Regular vs Oversized Cabinets

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UltraGary

Reaction score
I'm a complete rookie with Mesa Boogie product, but a devout fan and recent 1st time owner.

May I get some opinions from you folks on the comparison between Regular vs Oversized cabinets?? I'm assuming a bigger-but-looser bass response on the Oversized, which is a turn-off for me....but I could be way off.

I'm about to buy a 4x12....and I'm wondering how your real-world experiences are on this topic.

PS> I only use straight cabs (not slant)....if that matters at all.

THANX!!

Sorry, I don't have an answer for you but have been also wondering something similar and that is if an over-sized slant sounds similar to a regular straight. I figured that they have the same internal space so would be close. I had posted a question surrounding that before but got few responses.

But on topic, from my perusing this site the common theme seems to be that the over-sized cabs can be a little boomy while the regular sized (Stiletto) are tighter and a bit more mid-rangy.

All of the above assumptions are correct.

Except the Slant Oversize does not automatically equal the Straight Traditional Cabinet. The Oversized still has more bass.

Mark Tremonti says somewhere that he "feels" that the straight cabs are tighter.

But yeah, the Standard Rectifier is uberboomy, way too much for me. Impossible to record without clipping the signal when you palm mute