Mesa TC-100 FX loop question

Discussion area for the new TC50

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
Deadpool_25
Mark II
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:51 am

Mesa TC-100 FX loop question

Post by Deadpool_25 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:19 pm

Hi. I tried running some preamp pedals (AMT) into the FX return but the output seems much quieter than I think it should. Any ideas?

bandit2013
Triple Recto
Posts: 3143
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:31 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: Mesa TC-100 FX loop question

Post by bandit2013 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:04 am

Have you installed a dummy jack into the send? Also you need to turn on the FX loop relay using the switch on the back panel. Running direct though the Return, you would have to use the master volume control since the channel settings will have no effect on the output when they are bypassed. Not sure what the output level on the preamp you are using operating at. If it is instrument level, it will sound weak. The FX loop needs line level signals if you want to have the same amplitude of signal that is supplied by the Send jack.

User avatar
domct203
Moderator
Posts: 3168
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:52 am
Location: New Haven, CT U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Mesa TC-100 FX loop question

Post by domct203 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:25 am

Agreed, a preamp pedal designed for the front end of an amp will not have enough signal to properly drive the power amp, and may also have impedance matching issues.

Dom
'07 Roadster Voodoo modded
'08 Stiletto Deuce II
'10 Mark V - sold
'18 TC-100
'01 Recto 4X12 Slant
'04 Recto 4X12 Slant/Straight
'74 Les Paul Custom
'95 American Strat
'12 Les Paul Signature T
TC G-System
==> NOMAD on Facebook <==

Post Reply