Received my TC50 today. Wow

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dondante

Reaction score
I haven't been able to pull a bad sound out of it. Which is the opposite of my old Marks and Expres plus.

This is my first time using EL tubes.

I'm just wowed by this thing. It's incredible.

Dondante said:
I haven't been able to pull a bad sound out of it. Which is the opposite of my old Marks and Expres plus.

This is my first time using EL tubes.

I'm just wowed by this thing. It's incredible.

Awesome! Congrats and welcome to the family! I've been using 6L6s lately but want to try the EL34s again too. I also want to check out the 6V6s in there. Regardless, it's an amazing amp.

I totally agree its a killer amp that hits hard. I prefer it over the mark v 25 I used to have. Though I liked the tone of the Royal Atlantic more anyway.

Super super clean channel with a brutal gain channel 3 and every thing in-between. For 1700. Amazing. It's worth the price of admission without midi etc etc which I haven't even attempted to drive through yet.

I love the TC-50. Sweet amp for a 50W.
Trick for some awesome 70's hard rock, use clean channel set to drive, max the gain almost all the way and adjust the channel volume to taste. You may need to run the bass below noon.

For alternates to the Mesa EL34 STR447, the Mesa 6V6 STR417 are the bomb, it allows you to really get it saturated without killing your ears. The Mesa NOS Siemens EL34 are similar but a bit smoother. Also recommended in the 6L6 variety are the Mesa 5881 STR425 (you would have to get them from the Mesa store as they are not available else where, same would apply for the NOS Siemens tubes). The Mesa 5881 offer a full tone compared to the Mesa 6L6GC STR440. Both are essentially 6L6 tubes.