The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:31 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:26 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:04 pm
Posts: 56
Hi all

I live in Australia which uses 240v power and expecting delivery of a US JP2c. My electronics knowledge is rather lacking and hoping someone might be able to provide some help in determining the appropriate step-down transformer.

I currently have the following from when I use to have some other US gear
.
https://www.jaycar.com.au/120w-240-120v ... r/p/MF1080

I'm not sure if this is appropriate for the US JP2C power / current as its a max current of 1.0 amp. Last thing I want is to fry the power in the amp, especially with the warranty not being valid here. Do I need to upgrade to one of the other transformers?

Thanks in advance! Any help is appreciated :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:44 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 8:52 am
Posts: 10
I am never sure about these things, this looks right. I would send mesa an email asking what they recommend for US gear usage in Australia.

Lok


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:52 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:04 pm
Posts: 56
As I couldn't wait, I ended up just trying this one out and turned out to be totally fine. A little noisey but that's only cause I also have a few other things in the setup. Plugged straight in there's no additional noise.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:07 pm 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:56 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: Norfolk, CT
I wouldn't turn it up loud until you get a transformer that can handle more power! There's a 4 amp fuse on the JP2C so your transformer should be more, 110v x 4A = 440 watts of power and that transformer is 125w, not good IMO.

_________________
Hendrix/Dimebag influenced, JP2C, Mark llC++, Steinberger GR4's


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:09 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:04 pm
Posts: 56
Markedman wrote:
I wouldn't turn it up loud until you get a transformer that can handle more power! There's a 4 amp fuse on the JP2C so your transformer should be more, 110v x 4A = 440 watts of power and that transformer is 125w, not good IMO.


Yikes

Thankfully I never use the master above 9oclock. Looks like the JP will be sidelined and until I upgrade the transformer. Time to get reacquainted with the V. Thanks Markedman


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:38 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:04 pm
Posts: 56
Markedman wrote:
I wouldn't turn it up loud until you get a transformer that can handle more power! There's a 4 amp fuse on the JP2C so your transformer should be more, 110v x 4A = 440 watts of power and that transformer is 125w, not good IMO.


Would it make a difference if I had speaker off and using the FX loop to redirect the preamp signal to the V power section?

The JP load is connected through cab clone to my interface.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:29 pm 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 3:56 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: Norfolk, CT
You can buy a meter to show you how much power your amp is consuming. They're relatively cheap https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00009MDBU/re ... 6572288073 this is the one I have.

_________________
Hendrix/Dimebag influenced, JP2C, Mark llC++, Steinberger GR4's


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:25 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:04 pm
Posts: 56
So an update. I've been advised by Mesa's distributor that the stepdown transformer is not recommended as would run the amp too hot among other voltage related issues.

How much do you think an official transformer change to Aus export would hurt the value of the amp given it's one of the limited editions? I want the amp to work as it should, and doubt I would ever sell it but not sure how I feel about customising a LE models.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:37 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:18 pm
Posts: 8
The distributor is full of bunk.

Keep in mind that the fuse rating on the amp is when it blows....4A at 117v. So the amp at full tilt is not pulling 4A most likey around 2.5 to 3.

That being said you should be able to get a step down transformer no problem rated at 5A.

You can find anything you need here https://www.110220volts.com/up-downtran ... ormer.html

This one will fit your needs nicely https://www.110220volts.com/ac-500.html

I know and have one. I used to build and sell tube amps. And I used this exact model for all my 220/240 amps to test them


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:33 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:31 am
Posts: 2507
Location: North Carolina
I would also add a power conditioner to the 120V line for the amp to eliminate any power spikes or transients. The Furman supplies will shut down if the applied voltage creeps up or suddenly changes. They are just transient filters essentially but they work great for eliminating AC line noise, including ground noise.

_________________
Current amps:
TC-50, JP-2C, MK V, Roadster, RA100
Old friends I sometimes miss:
Mk III (blue stripe), Mark IVb-WB


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group