TA30 Channel 2 Issues

Discussion area for Transatlantic and Royal Atlantic.

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
kwackhog
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:16 pm

TA30 Channel 2 Issues

Post by kwackhog » Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:30 pm

So I have had issues right from the start with my TA30 combo head. When I switch to channel 1 things are fine, but switching to channel 2 is all static with no tone at all. Tons of static. I replaced all 4 power tubes and that did not fix the problem. After further reading, since this is only an issue with one of the channels, the guides I have seen tell me to focus on the pre-amp tubes.

So I focused on the V2 and V3 tubes and switched them out with brand new ones. Nope. I then tried to swap each tube one-by-one with a brand new one while leaving in the old ones. Nope.

So what else can I try because I have replaced all power tubes and went through all pre-amp tubes (didn't replace all 6, but just swapped one out at a time).

Any suggestions?

From the user guide "...you’ll be amazed at how easy it is to cure tube problems...by simply swapping out a pre-amp or power tube!" Nope.

kwackhog
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:16 pm

Re: TA30 Channel 2 Issues

Post by kwackhog » Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:00 pm

Just posting the answer for other users. It turns out that the outlet I was plugging into was not properly grounded. The user manual mentions properly grounded outlets for _safety_ issues, but never mentions un-grounded outlets causing sound issues! Whew! Quick fix.

jmontgomery
Mark III
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 7:02 am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: TA30 Channel 2 Issues

Post by jmontgomery » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:02 pm

Great find.
Jeff M.

Post Reply