voltage

Discussion area for Transatlantic and Royal Atlantic.

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
GuyB
Mark II
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:44 pm

voltage

Post by GuyB » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:53 am

It's the second power tube that blows out on my TA30. I'm ignorant about almost everything that concerns electricity but I was wondering if this had to do with the voltage in this particular place where I jam. I tested it yesterday and it indicated that the voltage was oscillating between 127 and 128. Do you know if this is too much above the "normal" 120 volts for the TA30 ?

GuyB
Mark II
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: voltage

Post by GuyB » Sun Jul 17, 2011 10:48 am

Well ! No answer after a week ! At least it makes me feel good not being the only one to ignore those electical things :)

I had two different answers from two amp techs ! The best thing would be to ask Mesa but I can't find an email adress. Does someone know the best way to get to Mesa ?

dodger916
Donating Member
Posts: 2396
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Ithaca, NY...10 sq miles surrounded by reality!

Re: voltage

Post by dodger916 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:07 pm

GuyB wrote:Well ! No answer after a week ! At least it makes me feel good not being the only one to ignore those electical things :)

I had two different answers from two amp techs ! The best thing would be to ask Mesa but I can't find an email adress. Does someone know the best way to get to Mesa ?
You can call them at (707) 778-6565. Here's their website: http://www.mesaboogie.com/

Mk IIA->C+ DRGX head "Cold Sweat" in GTS shell
1966 Fender Pro Reverb
DC-3 head
Orange Dual Terror
EVM loaded Thiele; MS-12 1/2 back
71 SG; 72 Tele; 76 White Strat; 77 LP Custom; 81 Goldtop; 05 Am Dlx Strat; 11 G0 plaintop

Image

GuyB
Mark II
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: voltage

Post by GuyB » Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:17 am

Thanks Dodger. But I already knew about the phone number and the web site. I was hoping for an email adress because even if I can write and understand written English, it's not the same at all when I try to speak it !!

dodger916
Donating Member
Posts: 2396
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Ithaca, NY...10 sq miles surrounded by reality!

Re: voltage

Post by dodger916 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:19 am

GuyB wrote:Thanks Dodger. But I already knew about the phone number and the web site. I was hoping for an email adress because even if I can write and understand written English, it's not the same at all when I try to speak it !!
You might be better off starting the conversation with a service tech who can then give you an email address. Or maybe the operator will give you e-mail address.

Mk IIA->C+ DRGX head "Cold Sweat" in GTS shell
1966 Fender Pro Reverb
DC-3 head
Orange Dual Terror
EVM loaded Thiele; MS-12 1/2 back
71 SG; 72 Tele; 76 White Strat; 77 LP Custom; 81 Goldtop; 05 Am Dlx Strat; 11 G0 plaintop

Image

ifailedshapes
Single Recto
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:31 am
Location: California

Re: voltage

Post by ifailedshapes » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:55 am

Mesa used to post on here as "AuthorizedBoogie". Perhaps you could send that user name a private message and see if they respond.
Guitars --> Pedals --> Amps

Past/Present Boogies
Express 5:50+ 1x12"
Stiletto Ace 1x12"
Electra Dyne Head
Lone Star Special 1x12"
Stiletto Ace Head
Express 5:25 1x10"
Mark IVb Widebody 1x12"

dodger916
Donating Member
Posts: 2396
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Ithaca, NY...10 sq miles surrounded by reality!

Re: voltage

Post by dodger916 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:27 am

ifailedshapes wrote:Mesa used to post on here as "AuthorizedBoogie". Perhaps you could send that user name a private message and see if they respond.
:idea: Great suggestion...

Mk IIA->C+ DRGX head "Cold Sweat" in GTS shell
1966 Fender Pro Reverb
DC-3 head
Orange Dual Terror
EVM loaded Thiele; MS-12 1/2 back
71 SG; 72 Tele; 76 White Strat; 77 LP Custom; 81 Goldtop; 05 Am Dlx Strat; 11 G0 plaintop

Image

GuyB
Mark II
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: voltage

Post by GuyB » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:18 pm

Thanks, I sent him a PM.

User avatar
Authorized Boogie
Mark IV
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Petaluma, California
Contact:

Re: voltage

Post by Authorized Boogie » Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:39 pm

Hi Guy -

I'm not exactly sure of the context of your post since it mentions nothing specific about what's happening to the 'second' tube in your amp, BUT...

127-128 is pretty high and not the best thing for any amp to operate at consistently. Mesa tests and designs all it's amps with a fairly steady and regulated 117V. Keeping in mind that if ALL voltages in the amp are affected by your line voltage, the voltages and current to the tubes goes up as well. 122-123 is somewhat common and reasonable enough although possibly where problems may begin. 127-128 is rather high and definitely a voltage that would cause the weakest link in a set of tubes to show itself, if not just outright fail.

Hope this helps.

Boogie
MESA/Boogie - Product Specialist/Customer Service - http://www.mesaboogie.com/support/index.html

User avatar
J.J
Mark IV
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Australia

Re: voltage

Post by J.J » Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:26 am

Thanks for that information. My mains voltage runs high where I live and I have seen 253V (240 nominal) recently. Plate voltage and tube current are both at the limits. I'm going to look at getting a voltage stabilizer for home use.
Triple Crown 50 combo
Electra Dyne and Royal Atlantic heads
Express 5:25 1x12 combo
JCM800 2203
Deluxe reverb reissue
Traditional 2x12, 4x10 and 23" 1x12 cabs.

GuyB
Mark II
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: voltage

Post by GuyB » Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:08 pm

Thanks Boogie,

Sorry for the "unclear" English. What I wanted to say is that I had two tubes that failed (burned out) but not at the same time. After replacing the first one, another one failed (a week later).

Curiously, I played at this same place (where there is that 128 V) two times since the last tube failed without any problems. I don't know if the tech that changed the tubes changed something else in the amp. (I never saw this tech, I just brought the amp to the store where I bought it - because the warranty - and they send the amp to the tech).

JJ mentioned a "voltage stabilizer for home use". Is this an answer to my problem ? Is this something that I could put between the wall socket and the amp ? And how much does it cost ?

Thanks again for the infos.

talltxguy
Donating Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Central Texas

Re: voltage

Post by talltxguy » Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:35 pm

I don't work for these guys or own any stock in them. I've heard good things about them though. I would have purchased one for use with my Roadster, but it's got the "built-in variac."

http://shop.vintagesoundworkbench.com/p ... tegoryId=1
YOUTUBE: mesafanintexas

User avatar
J.J
Mark IV
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Australia

Re: voltage

Post by J.J » Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:52 am

I didn't have anything in mind. We used to have voltage stabilizers made for us at work for sensitive equipment. The box contained a feroresonant transformer. Input voltage could be anywhere from 220V to 260V (we have 240V mains in my country) and the oupout would stay within a volt or so of 240V.

Those Amp maniac and amp preserver products look very good. I think Weber also has a similar product too.
Triple Crown 50 combo
Electra Dyne and Royal Atlantic heads
Express 5:25 1x12 combo
JCM800 2203
Deluxe reverb reissue
Traditional 2x12, 4x10 and 23" 1x12 cabs.

GuyB
Mark II
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: voltage

Post by GuyB » Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:38 am

Thanks for the infos fellows, I'll start looking at that.

Post Reply