TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Discussion area for Transatlantic and Royal Atlantic.

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
mdortona
Mark IV
Posts: 617
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: Sayre, PA

TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by mdortona » Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:46 am

Does anyone know if the preamp tubes on the TA-30 (head or combo) are mounted to the chassis or to the PC board? Thanks!

Matt
Matt D'Ortona

Mesa MK-IV
Mesa Subway Blues
Mesa MK-V 25
Binghamtone Amps Twin Jr.




I REALLY NEED TO HAVE MY HEAD EXAMINED!!!!

jamme61
Donating Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:26 am

Re: TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by jamme61 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:39 am

PC mount

mdortona
Mark IV
Posts: 617
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: Sayre, PA

Re: TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by mdortona » Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:15 am

A $1500 amp with PC board mounted tubes. Unreal! That's troubling coming from a Mesa Boogie. I hope that it isn't the beginning of a trend (like Fender does). Appreciate the info!

Matt
Matt D'Ortona

Mesa MK-IV
Mesa Subway Blues
Mesa MK-V 25
Binghamtone Amps Twin Jr.




I REALLY NEED TO HAVE MY HEAD EXAMINED!!!!

dodger916
Donating Member
Posts: 2396
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: Ithaca, NY...10 sq miles surrounded by reality!

Re: TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by dodger916 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:59 pm

As far as I know, most Mesas have PC board-mounted preamps. IIRC, my C+ is like that too

Mk IIA->C+ DRGX head "Cold Sweat" in GTS shell
1966 Fender Pro Reverb
DC-3 head
Orange Dual Terror
EVM loaded Thiele; MS-12 1/2 back
71 SG; 72 Tele; 76 White Strat; 77 LP Custom; 81 Goldtop; 05 Am Dlx Strat; 11 G0 plaintop

Image

ifailedshapes
Single Recto
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:31 am
Location: California

Re: TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by ifailedshapes » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:05 pm

mdortona wrote:A $1500 amp with PC board mounted tubes. Unreal! That's troubling coming from a Mesa Boogie. I hope that it isn't the beginning of a trend (like Fender does). Appreciate the info!

Matt
I am not in any way asserting myself as an expert, but I have yet to read any posts about bad tube sockets. Mesa is a company that really seems to care about details, and I'd like to think they do things to the best of their ability. If they thought there was a better way, I'm sure they'd be dong it differently.
Guitars --> Pedals --> Amps

Past/Present Boogies
Express 5:50+ 1x12"
Stiletto Ace 1x12"
Electra Dyne Head
Lone Star Special 1x12"
Stiletto Ace Head
Express 5:25 1x10"
Mark IVb Widebody 1x12"

BostonRedSox
Mark IV
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:30 pm

Re: TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by BostonRedSox » Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:42 pm

I should point out though that I did have to have warranty work done on my Roadster because of a faulty tube socket. Luckily, Mesa's warranties are long and cover these types of occasions.

Jared Purdy
Mark II
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:42 am

Re: TA-30 Preamp tube mounting?

Post by Jared Purdy » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:31 pm

It's the cheaper way to go. If the PCB is thick enough, that helps, but it is not as good as the alternative. And not all PCB Fenders have PCB mounted sockets. They are not the only expensive amp company to do that. Tone King, a US boutique amp company that charges big bucks for their amps also does the same.

Post Reply