Mesa Boogie Forum

The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:35 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Impedance Mismatch
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:20 pm 
Mark II

I know the amp can tolerate certain mismatches, but I have two 8 ohm cabs and no parallel box. Can I safely plug one into the 8 ohm output and the other into the 4 ohm output?

Post subject: Re: Impedance Mismatch
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:07 pm 
Mark II

Get a second opinion but in theory I think that's ok: I'm no expert but my understanding is that as long as the ohms load on the speaker isn't less than the output on the amp you don’t damage the output stage of the amp. 4 ohm output into an 8 ohm speaker is fine as far as I understand it.

However, someone way cleverer than me needs to clarify whether or not it’s safe to use both the amp’s speaker outputs at the same time.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:14 pm 
Mark II

Well, I tried it anyway and actually preferred the sound of the Thiele only so that's what I'm going to go with. ;-) I still may need the answer for other speaker cabs.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:37 pm 
Mark I

Sebber wrote:
Get a second opinion but in theory I think that's ok: I'm no expert but my understanding is that as long as the ohms load on the speaker isn't less than the output on the amp you don’t damage the output stage of the amp. 4 ohm output into an 8 ohm speaker is fine as far as I understand it.

However, someone way cleverer than me needs to clarify whether or not it’s safe to use both the amp’s speaker outputs at the same time.