Need amp education

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom023

Reaction score
I am fairly new to electrics and only have owned a basic starter amp. I upgraded and purchased a TA-15 for home use and love the flexibility and sound on 5w mode. The issue is the 15/25w modes have a loud hum, not a hiss as others have reported. I understand tube amps may have some but the level is beyond what I would think is acceptable for an amp geared toward home and studio use. If you listen to this demo http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jD9zCvyVgg you can hear the same hum my amp produces. Listen closely right when the video starts and when he changes the channels on the amp and you will hear exactly what my amp is producing. Is this amount of hum normal for tube amps? I've done all the troubleshooting suggestions in the manual and everything checks out fine, tried different rooms and even a power "cleaner" with no improvement. Although the demo obviously has a guitar hooked up, mine makes the same noise with and without an instrument connected and the volume, gain and tone control settings have little impact, just a tad louder if the volume/gain is turned up. Thanks for any input.

Hi Tom023,

Congrats on the new amp. The hum you hear is normal. The hum is louder when you use a guitar with single coils as opposed to humbuckers. Hope this helps

Roddie

Hi,

The hum I heard in the video is louder than I would like and it is louder than any hum on my TA, at least at lower volumes, but, what are the channel and other settings that display this hum?

You may try swapping out some of the tubes and see what you find. EL84's can sound and hum differently even when they are from the same batch and/or matched and 12AX7's can also bring in hums and other noises/microphonics even when they test okay and are running at lower volumes.

Bill