The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:11 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Electradyne - no Sound
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:21 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:46 am
Posts: 8
First the good news, its all fixed now, under warranty, fast service from local warranty supplier in Sydney (Australia) - Had to call the official Rep in Canberra, who put me on to the local sydney person. Fixed in just a day.

in Future for anyone else who has this problem. It started with the Dyne just stopping in the middle of a Jam. We were pretty loud. Lights were still on, Tubes still lit, but no sound on any settings. Followed some tips, which said to plug directly into the return effects (bypass the pre-amp tubes), but that also did'nt work. So a warranty fix was needed. Strangely the manual has tips for every failure issue except this one.

It turns out to be a known problem. Some diodes feeding the power tubes, had heated up, melted the solder and fell out (apparently this is the driver feed, not the high-voltage feed (hence the tubes still light up). One of the benefits of a warranty dealer is they have access to boogie's notes and he is used to pulling them apart, testing and fixing them. He found a note which describes this exact problem. The Fix (recommended by Mesa), was to replace the Diodes with a plain Wire. The Diode used to lower the volts for the tube, and hence heated up (and melted the solder). The wire does not heat up, so not a future problem. No change to sound/tone that I can hear. All good and working now.

NOTE, blindly replacing the tubes would not have fixed the problem. Also, like other boogie amps, this model has no fuse on the output speaker terminals (HT I think its called).

I'll leave this here in case other people have the same issue.
- No Sound issue. If its not the preamp (plug into effects return, it it works it means one of the pre-amp tubes is broken), and the AMP was really hot when it happened (mine was), then likely this issue.
- Warranty call in Sydney (or anywhere else in Australia). Dont panic that the only service centre is in ACT! Call them, and they will arrange someone wherever you are.
- Transferable warranty: I had the original receipt, but in someone elses name. This was not a problem, unlike other vendors (e.g. Lenovo for laptops, they are not too picky).

Thanks Mesa, for the great service and Tone from this fantastic Amp


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:43 pm 
Offline
Mark IV

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 6:41 pm
Posts: 845
Location: East Bay, CA
Thanks for the tip.

_________________
LP Std Gold Top | LP Special | AmDlx Strat | AmStd Tele | SG Std 60s | ES335 | FSR Tele
Lone Star Classic
Lone Star Special
Electra Dyne
Mini Rec 25
TransAtlantic 15
Lone Star 27, 23 & 19, RA 27 1x12, WBCB 1x12 Cabs

http://www.damonwood.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:11 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:41 am
Posts: 1
The exact same thing happened the other night. Read bigbarons' post and that was it. The diode was rattling around in the chassis and found the empty solder holes from whence it came. Gonna do the wire jump tonight.

Also, there are some hot spots on the PCB near these diodes...nothing loose or broken other than that one diode...just for ya'll's info that this could be potential problem when running amp full gain and master 4-5.

Thanks bigbaron, saved me a lot of time!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:36 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 2967
Location: Weinerpeg MB Canada
Really good to know. I know someone so I could probably get this mod done to pre-emptively deal with any potential future issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:42 pm 
Online
Mark III
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:45 pm
Posts: 263
Location: Southwest Michigan
Just curious if these issues were with a combo or a head? I could certainly understand if it was in a combo, since the chassis is inverted and more heat would work its way to the guts of the amp. I've read in this forum that there is a place to put a fan inside which should help with heat quite a bit. I've noticed my Dyne gets almost hot enough to cook with.

_________________
__________________
TC-50, Electra Dyne, Mark V, Road King I
Mostly Fenders with Duncans
EVM, Eminence, and WGS speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:17 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 2533
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Yeah, my Dyne head generates a huge updraft of hot air out of the vent on top. IIRC, an old post showed that there is a 12V test point of the PC Board for driving a fan, and someone attached a fan to the vent and wired it to the PCB with good results.

I have been running my Dyne head at high volume via an attenuator for several years with no problems. But this design flaw is likely to show up eventually, I would guess.

_________________
Electra Dyne Head
JP-2C WICKER, Baby!
Mini Rectifier blue LED
Recto 2x12 Horizontal
2x Recto 2x12 Vertical


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:52 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:48 pm
Posts: 1
Just wanted to add that if V5 is bad you'll get no sound by plugging into the input or the effect return because V5b handles the fx return.
Cheers!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group