The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 8:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Electra Dyne No Volume
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 2967
Location: Weinerpeg MB Canada
Posting this because the sub forum has been dead and we need SOME content.

So, Electra Dyne - which usually has mountains of power - has nothing. (First time this happened) It sounds thin like the MV is almost off no matter how high you turn the MV. I'm guessing it's the Phase Inverter tube. I'll report back once we do some tests here!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:27 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:57 pm
Posts: 4448
Location: South of Heaven
Speaker cable's in the speaker out and not the slave out?

_________________
Ignore the hype and trust your ears. Play more, buy less = better tone.

| Les Paul | McCarty | Custom 24 | CE 22 |
| D800 | Dual Rectifier | Electra Dyne | Rectoverb:25 | Strategy 8:88 |
| Powerhouse 410 | Recto 1x12, 2x12, 4x12 | Subway 112, 115 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 5:42 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 2967
Location: Weinerpeg MB Canada
You know, I don't think so, but if it was it would explain a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:43 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 2967
Location: Weinerpeg MB Canada
So the test was inconclusive.

V7 didn't fix anything.

V6 didn't fix anything.

I noticed that V4 was not lighting so I jimmied it and turned on the reverb. The amp roared to life. I jimmied V4 again and the amp cut out and started sounding thin and trebly with no volume.

Then jimmied v4 and the amp roared to life again. Then I swapped v4 for a new preamp tube and it's been running fine.

I'm wondering if there is a loose solder joint somewhere? Trying to decide if I should get it inspected.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:46 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:57 pm
Posts: 4448
Location: South of Heaven
the effects loop switches in/out when a plug is inserted/removed front the FX send jack. I've had the switch stick after removing the cable before. If I remember correctly the symptoms were similar.

I also plugged in the slave out once.... :oops:

_________________
Ignore the hype and trust your ears. Play more, buy less = better tone.

| Les Paul | McCarty | Custom 24 | CE 22 |
| D800 | Dual Rectifier | Electra Dyne | Rectoverb:25 | Strategy 8:88 |
| Powerhouse 410 | Recto 1x12, 2x12, 4x12 | Subway 112, 115 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:08 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 2967
Location: Weinerpeg MB Canada
screamingdaisy wrote:
the effects loop switches in/out when a plug is inserted/removed front the FX send jack. I've had the switch stick after removing the cable before. If I remember correctly the symptoms were similar.


Yes, it definitely could be this but it wouldn't explain why when I jiggled the tube that the sound was getting loud and then REALLY quiet. Although it did sound like a switch of some sort had been triggered. It was definitely operating fine with the exception of being really quiet. No weird smells...

Quote:
I also plugged in the slave out once.... :oops:


LOOOL!!! It would be easy to do if one did not look closely.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:39 am 
Offline
Dual Recto
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm
Posts: 2967
Location: Weinerpeg MB Canada
OK, there is a 99% chance that the FX loop switch is sticking. I had gigged with the amp and it was fine but I was using my Delay pedal in the loop. When my brother tried using it without FX, it had that weird sound. I replicated that weird sound by plugging a patch cable into the return but then got the amp to work properly by plugging the other end of the cable into the send. I'll just have to email Mesa about this and see what they say.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 1:34 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:57 pm
Posts: 4448
Location: South of Heaven
Use DeOxit and work the plug in and out. L&M sells it.

_________________
Ignore the hype and trust your ears. Play more, buy less = better tone.

| Les Paul | McCarty | Custom 24 | CE 22 |
| D800 | Dual Rectifier | Electra Dyne | Rectoverb:25 | Strategy 8:88 |
| Powerhouse 410 | Recto 1x12, 2x12, 4x12 | Subway 112, 115 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:43 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:32 pm
Posts: 217
Also, if your fx loop connections on your pedal board are reversed it'll make the same wierd reverb-y sound.

_________________
Electra Dyne 1x12 combo
Deluxe Reverb Reissue
American Deluxe strat
PRS Custom 22

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:32 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 2533
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
The reverb bypasses the loop, so if you kill the signal in the loop, you'll still get the reverb bleeding through.

_________________
Electra Dyne Head
JP-2C WICKER, Baby!
Mini Rectifier blue LED
Recto 2x12 Horizontal
2x Recto 2x12 Vertical


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group