Pop when switching between channels

Discussion area for Electra Dyne amp.

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
Paw
Mark II
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Norway

Pop when switching between channels

Post by Paw » Mon Jul 13, 2015 4:23 pm

Tried an Electra Dyne today and switched from clean to HI and it gave off a loud pop. I switched on the front panel, not with a footswitch. Thought that wouldn't happen with a modern amp.

Faulty or user mistake?

wekiitoedzo
Mark I
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:59 am
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Pop when switching between channels

Post by wekiitoedzo » Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:44 pm

I use the dyne almost for 4 years now 1x12 combo version but never experienced an issue like this. Tube problems can cause a lot of interesting behaviour. Also many electrical equipments or issues in the area where you tried it. This amp is a very very sensitive animal!
Try to swap with footswitch as well. Also in a different place, or with a different guitar.
Ibanez rg770dx, Fender Vintage '57 Hotrod Strat, Fender '81 Gold Strat
Electra Dyne 1x12, VOX, Ampeg r12r

Paw
Mark II
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:03 am
Location: Norway

Re: Pop when switching between channels

Post by Paw » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:45 pm

wekiitoedzo wrote:I use the dyne almost for 4 years now 1x12 combo version but never experienced an issue like this. Tube problems can cause a lot of interesting behaviour. Also many electrical equipments or issues in the area where you tried it. This amp is a very very sensitive animal!
Try to swap with footswitch as well. Also in a different place, or with a different guitar.
I tried it in a store, and the master was set really high, like 3 o'clock, while the volume was set really low, because I tried to get some more gain. I understood later that I should have done it inversely, but the store was just about to close and I didn't have much time. So the reason may have been that the master was set really high, but the over all volume was just at loud bedroom levels. It got really hissy when the master was turned past 9 o'clock.

I may go try it tomorrow or another day, though, and see if it behaves properly.

PS: It didn't have a footswitch.

Thanks!

User avatar
elvis
Donating Member
Posts: 2551
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA

Re: Pop when switching between channels

Post by elvis » Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:11 pm

I don't get pops with mine, though occasionally I get a little one. Setting for big changes between the modes could well create a tendency to pop. Keeping the master down should help by limiting the gain after the internal switches.
Mini Rectifier blue LED
Stiletto ACE
F50 Combo
Recto 2x12 Vertical
Recto 2x12 Wedge

Post Reply