Page 1 of 1

Footswitch issues again

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:46 pm
by jnoel64
A while back, I posted an issue I was having with my Dyne's footswitch. It was suggested that I may have oxidation on the ports, so try unplugging and re-plugging the cable in several times. That worked...temporarily. Now, when I try to use the footswitch, all I can do is switch between clean and vintage lo. It doesn't matter if I use the port on the front or back of the amp. Those are the only two modes I use, but the footswitch light always lights up the vintage hi light when in drive mode and nothing else. Does anyone have a similar issue? Or does anyone have a suggestion to correct this (aside from buying another $60 footswitch)?

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:43 am
by Chester
Try contact cleaner first - if still no joy, try a different stereo cable before going down the FSW replacement route

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:25 pm
by Billy Hiwatt
I've had problems with the footswitch before. It always was the cable, not the footswitch.

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:50 pm
by wekiitoedzo
Yeah its sure the cable. Thats the weakest part of the dyne. The cable quality is crap. Remember to bring backup cables for gig.

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:28 am
by jnoel64
That's pretty crappy. Had to order the footswitch cable from Mesa just about a year ago because Guitar Center had no clue. They sent me a cheapo 10 foot mono cable. Idiots. No wonder GC isn't a Mesa distributor anymore.

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:16 pm
by jnoel64
It took way too long to post the resolution, but here it is. The factory footswitch is the issue. I bought a knock off on eBay and my mode switching is fully restored.

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:15 pm
by Axe34
I just purchased a new Electra Dyne combo on clearance at the Brampton, Ontario Long and McQuade yesterday and am having the exact same problem. Also, the switch stops working altogether after a few clicks. This happens on either jack and with half a dozen different stereo cables. I also tried contact cleaner.

I made a video of what happens. https://vimeo.com/120003423

I emailed Mesa to see what's up.

Also, the volume and master pots were scratchy. I fixed those with some contact cleaner.

Last but not least, they forgot to include the casters.

Oh well, at least it sounds glorious. :lol:

Re: Footswitch issues again

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:30 pm
by jnoel64
Here is where I got my replacement switch:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/KoolKats-2-Butt ... 4ace7400f8

It works perfectly now.