The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:11 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:46 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:05 pm
Posts: 20
I posted in the Triaxis thread, too but if I can do this with the Mk V even better.

Mark V + G-Major. What's the easiest way to make this work with a Rocktron MIDI controller?

Speak to me like I have no clue what I'm doing. I've heard I just need an external channel switcher but, I'm cheap at the moment. :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:35 pm 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:22 am
Posts: 34
Location: North of Seattle
You would only need a channel switcher if you want to control SOLO and EQ via midi, as well as the channels.

The relay on the G-major will only control two of the four switches. I personally use them to switch between the channels, and I don't worry about switching the EQ or SOLO switches.

You will need an Insert Cable going from the G-Major to the two channels switches. Then, you can set which channel is active on each patch of the G-Major and use the MIDI footpedal to choose patches.

Works well.


~Icarus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:46 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:15 pm
Posts: 283
Hi Icarus
Mate I'm pretty new to this level of rack gear. I use a G System and an RJM Amp Gizmo.
A dummy new to midi clutz like me can work it, it must do the job.

_________________
some guitars and some amps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:55 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:05 pm
Posts: 20
Yeah, I only use 2 of the channels predominately and EQ is always on so...

Solo I can do manually, no sweat.

Where would I hook the Rocktron?

The G-Major into the effects loop? I told you guys I'm an idiot to this stuff, haha.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:19 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:17 pm
Posts: 203
Location: Canada
You'd put the G Major in the effects loop, and hook the Rocktron up to the G Major. The G Major will also connect into the External Switch jacks on the amp depending what you want to control.

_________________
Mark V
Studio Preamp
formerly: Quad Preamp, Rocket 44 112


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:35 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:05 pm
Posts: 20
I should note I have the G-Major v1. I tried several different Midi jack combinations since there is In, Out and Thru and none of them would change the amp. I think that's where my confusion lies. Being that there is an external switch and the amp is midi controllable, haha.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:10 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:22 am
Posts: 34
Location: North of Seattle
Connect a MIDI cable from Rocktron MIDI out to Gmajor MIDI in

Connect an instrument cable from MARK V 'FX Send' to GMajor Left Input (Mono)

Connect an instrument cable from MARK V 'FX Return' to GMajor Left Output (Mono)

Connect an Insert cable from GMajor Relay Switch port to MARK V External Control ports for Channel 2 & 3 (an Insert cable has a TRS connection on one end and two TS connectors on the other... like a stereo splitter cable)

In the GMajor, you will need to setup the relays to be opened or closed. When both are open (probably the default), you will be in channel one. When one is closed, one of the Mark V channels will become active. When the other is closed, the other channel will activate. I don't believe you should use the Mesa footswitch at all, and don't activate both channels at once.

More info here: http://support.tcelectronic.com/entries/20994517-G-Major-G-Major-2-G-System-How-to-make-channel-switching-work


~Icarus


Last edited by Icarusuki on Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:21 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:05 pm
Posts: 20
Thank you, very much. MIDI can be overly complex sometmes. I'm not new to amps. Just new to MIDI.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:33 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:22 am
Posts: 34
Location: North of Seattle
Nicklotsaguitars wrote:
Hi Icarus
Mate I'm pretty new to this level of rack gear. I use a G System and an RJM Amp Gizmo.
A dummy new to midi clutz like me can work it, it must do the job.


How do you like the G System? I've toyed with the idea of getting one.

I like the idea of using the 4CM to place the pre-amp section in the middle of the FX chain and because the G System has 4 relays, you can use the 4 relays on the G-System to control both the Channels, the EQ, and the SOLO controls on a Mark V.


~Icarus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:44 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:22 am
Posts: 34
Location: North of Seattle
lcwoods529 wrote:
Thank you, very much. MIDI can be overly complex sometmes. I'm not new to amps. Just new to MIDI.


Yeah, we've all been there with MIDI. It can be very, very complicated. It drives me nuts that technology has come so far, and MIDI from 1983 is still the dominant protocol. At least USB is making headway. Several manufacturers still use MIDI, but now, via USB and a computer, there's a nice GUI over it, so it is a little simpler.

~Icarus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 10:11 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:05 pm
Posts: 20
Just to be clear, that a 1/4 to a Y split 1/4" TRS cable?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:14 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:22 am
Posts: 34
Location: North of Seattle
1/4" TRS (stereo) split into two 1/4" TS or (mono) cables. If you do a search on 'Insert cables', you will find them.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=601051&gclid=CMmq4cDu9c0CFZY1aQodNEAB7g



~Icarus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:21 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:15 pm
Posts: 283
Icarusuki wrote:
Nicklotsaguitars wrote:
Hi Icarus
Mate I'm pretty new to this level of rack gear. I use a G System and an RJM Amp Gizmo.
A dummy new to midi clutz like me can work it, it must do the job.


How do you like the G System? I've toyed with the idea of getting one.

I like the idea of using the 4CM to place the pre-amp section in the middle of the FX chain and because the G System has 4 relays, you can use the 4 relays on the G-System to control both the Channels, the EQ, and the SOLO controls on a Mark V.


~Icarus



Yeah I like it a lot. I'm not a huge user of effects. I sometimes like a thick phaser. With this, I love the harmonised effects. And I find the eq really useful as I don't really like the preset alternative on the Mark V. So I can cut a load of bass and boost the mids for a Mark1 solo sound. Get a huge mid scoop or a treble cut for my 2 clean sounds. On the hi gain channel I use a cheap joyo noisegate at the input and find the G-sys noise gate in the loop really helps keep my sound controlled at volume.

All in all, I like it a lot. It's not the easiest box to program and the manual is junk. I like using it with the amp gizmo as I can turn the loop off and on, as well as the reverb. I think the Mark V's reverb is superb. Much prefer it to anything I can remember hearing

_________________
some guitars and some amps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:53 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:05 pm
Posts: 20
OK, another issue. I've got the cable/adapter and got into the relay settings and it works when I change from open to closed or whatever. BUT....to save this function per preset/channel the manual says to hit "store" twice. Well, that's not working. It's not saving my changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mk V and G-Major
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:45 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:15 pm
Posts: 283
I had the same issue when trying to configure the midi on my G-sys to get certain buttons to send midi signals. I gave up. Looking at the G Major manual, I'd be inclined to do the same. It's as bad as the G systems manual.

_________________
some guitars and some amps


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group