Strange Mark V Issue

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mesa512

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I recently put a whole new set of tubes (preamp and poweramp) in my Mark V. All the tubes were bought from the Mesa Boogie Store. I noticed something strange happens now that I put in the new tubes.

I will put my amp on to warm up the tubes and after about 3-4 minutes of warming up I will hear a click (the same sound that you hear when you change between ch1, ch2, ch3 with the floorboard). The power cuts out for a second or two and then it comes right back. This has even happened a few times after I started playing. Same exact thing where you hear the click, power cuts out, wait a second or two and then it comes back on.

I cannot figure out what is going on with my amp. Any ideas?

That is odd, Try it with the footswitch cable removed and use the back control knob to switch channels or leave it in the footswitch position (default should be ch1). Is the speaker plugged in? Is the power cord plugged in firmly? The power supply used to operate the 5 volt switch logic as well as the 12Vdc fan is a 14VAC tap off of the power transformer. If something is loading the main supply (the 345VAC feed) the low voltage circuits will drop out. It could be the 5U4G rectifier tube but your issue sounds more like a power tube problem.