The next Mark - what would we need?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ulf2

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am new to the section of this forum.

Since I had the privilege to often use a Mark V and currently have a JP-2C here for a few weeks, I wanted to share my thoughts ...
not tonewise but featurewise:

What do you think the next Mark-serie flagship would need?

1. A drawback in the Mark V for me as a high gain player is that I can't use two high gain channels (IIC+ and Extreme). The JP-2C can do that easily and it makes sense. On the other hand: The Mark V ist just more flexible and has more clean voicings. Tough descision.
2. While I can understand the Mark V can't switch the voicings per channel remotely, I never understood why there is no MIDI onboard. Again, the JP-2C delivers.
3. Give me a deep control for the power amp. Most MB power amps have at least a deep and/or modern voice.
4. Would a second graphic EQ be better than the preset EQ controls?
5. It might be a good idea to use the JP-2C transformer in a "Mark VI", wouldn't it?

I am curious to hear your thoughts. Personally, a Mark V melted with a JP-2C would be just a burning hot product.
It could even be a 3U preamp if you ask me. Get a 2:90 if you want Simul Class.

The next Mark will and should have a lot from the JP2C:
Midi
Dual EQ
Cab Clone

Gizzorge said:
The next Mark will and should have a lot from the JP2C:
Midi
Dual EQ
Cab Clone

I agree with the Cab Clone. I wouldn't have a problem with the head being wider. The small chassis tend to get pretty hot anyway.

I know the OP says "flagship" but I the small versions are now so wildly popular, that I woudn't be surprised to see a 3 channel 25 or 35 watt Mark.

Imagine a V25+ with three channels, and the Tweed, and Mark 1 Modes added.... I'm drooling already.

Dreamtheaterrules said: