Channel 2 - no gain

Discussion for the new Mark V

Moderators: Grandor, ned, Guitarzan, Platypus

Post Reply
sheehanje
Mark II
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:16 pm

Channel 2 - no gain

Post by sheehanje » Tue May 03, 2016 7:22 am

I just got a decent tone out of Channel 2 to use on some covers my band does. I normally work on Channel 3.

However, I got it to practice to try it and the channel is flat. No gain, takes a good amount of volume to get a fizzy type of clean out of it.

Would this be V2? I know the power tubes are fine, they are all working in 90W mode on the other channels.

My preamp tubes are all brand new - I just bought a whole set of them.

User avatar
Monstercastle
Mark III
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:03 am

Re: Channel 2 - no gain

Post by Monstercastle » Tue May 03, 2016 10:39 am

V1, V2 & V3 are all gain stages in channel 2. What are your settings and what mode?
Mark V:25 Head, TC-100 head, Vertical 212, Widebody Closed 112
Gone but not forgotten: LSS 112, Mark V Head

sheehanje
Mark II
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Channel 2 - no gain

Post by sheehanje » Tue May 03, 2016 10:54 am

None of the modes are working - 90Watt.

Can crank the gain and nothing... Tried bypassing the loop - volume up to about 2'oclock and gain anywhere and it sounds like a fizzy clean channel with little volume. I was thinking V2 because it's the only one dedicated to Channel 2 - the other channels/modes are working fine.

User avatar
Monstercastle
Mark III
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:03 am

Re: Channel 2 - no gain

Post by Monstercastle » Tue May 03, 2016 4:33 pm

Yeah, tubes are the right place to start, even if they are relatively new.
Mark V:25 Head, TC-100 head, Vertical 212, Widebody Closed 112
Gone but not forgotten: LSS 112, Mark V Head

pjdude
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel 2 - no gain

Post by pjdude » Wed May 04, 2016 10:17 am

I had the same problem with my V:35. Worked just fine the night I bought it. Next day, no gain from Ch2. I always keep spares, so I tried the spare in all preamp tube slots until I got my gain back. Works fine now.
PJ Clement

"none of the best things in life are easy"

User avatar
phyrexia
Donating Member
Posts: 2505
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 3:39 am
Location: Birmingham, AL
Contact:

Re: Channel 2 - no gain

Post by phyrexia » Wed May 04, 2016 4:16 pm

One or more of your preamp tubes are DOA.

If the other two channels work we can probably rule out V1. So as Monstercastle suggested, replace V2 and V3 one at a time with a verified good tube and see if you can sort out the issue.
“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step." Lao Tzu

sheehanje
Mark II
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Channel 2 - no gain

Post by sheehanje » Wed May 04, 2016 5:03 pm

yeah - was V2 - as soon as I replaced it the channel came alive again.

Thanks everyone!

Post Reply