Who uses a V30 in their combo?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karl Houseknecht

Reaction score
1. Who uses a V30 in their Mark V combo?

2. Do you use the 90 watt modes?

Lots of conflicting info out there. You can order your combo from Mesa in this configuration, but when I contacted them about it they said the 90 watt mode was unusable with a V30 and would be considered abuse and not covered under warranty. And yet, I've heard from some retailers and other users that this isn't a problem.

I'd love to put a V30 in it but not if I have to abandon the 90 watt modes.

You can do it but you can't crank the volume, and if you did Mesa wouldn't cover it under warranty.

Most people will never play it that loud.

The V30 is rated at 60W, I think...someone's gonna have to check me on that...
I'm not an expert, but I think if you cranked it in 45W mode, you run the risk of damaging it as well. The answer is to run the C90 in the combo and a V30 in an extension cab!

Disclaimer: I'm just saying that 'cause that's what I've been doing lately and it's sounding sweet to me. :lol:

The V30 is supposedly closer to 70 watts. Mesa does ship the combo with the V30 in it, and has told me that there's not problem with running it in the combo at 45 watts. I'm just asking if anyone else here has that configuraiton and if they've used the 90 watt mode. Can't tell what wattage the guy from Haggerty's Music is running it with in his video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lJYmOKC4h0

screamingdaisy said:
I've done it, you just can't crank it, and if you do blow the speaker Mesa won't cover it.

Cool, thanks. So...define "crank"? Right now with the C90, channel volumes are at 11:00 and master around the same.

Karl Houseknecht said:
Cool, thanks. So...define "crank"? Right now with the C90, channel volumes are at 11:00 and master around the same.