Thinkin of getting a Mark V - Combo vs Head

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QuantBlue

Reaction score
So guys, Ive been playing the guitar for almost ten years now, and seriously considering going for my first tube amp (cant stand that digital Boss -GT, Line 6 crap anymore)
I ve been saving up money for quite some time now, and really want to get an AMP that can pretty much do anything, so as a big fan of varius Guitarist using Mesa Mark Series Amp i thought the Mark V would be the best choice.
However most of the time ill be using the amp will be at home, but also for jamming in the cellars of my friends house and for some gigs, so i need to be at least a bit portable.
Do you think it is worth buying the amp if im using it most of the time a home (neighbours are not sensitive to noise but i wont be able to crank it in any way)?

What would be the best choice? Combo or Head with a 1x12, 2x12? (Somehow i think i do not like V30, they have some high end frequenzy that absolutely ruins it for me, especially with high gain sounds, just my opinion)

Im playing pretty much everything from Blues, Funk, Jazz, Rock up to Metal but not any Metalcore, Deathmetal etc.

Can the combo still get decent sounds? ( i know it has a different speaker and open back)

Thanks for help :)

If for nothing else the Heads hold their value and resell much better than the combos. That said, I prefer combos for the stuff I play

Yeah, i thought about that value think, but if i pull the triffer i dont think im going to sell it anytime sooon, btw what speaker are you rinning in your combo?