Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Discussion for the new Mark V

Moderators: Grandor, ned, Guitarzan, Platypus

Post Reply
CakeJollamer
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:35 pm

Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by CakeJollamer » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:23 pm

I recently noticed this weird "issue" that happens with both of Mark V amps, under the same circumstances. It's on channel 1, using a really clean "fat" John Petrucci clean setting. Have the EQ set to footswitch, with the preset/slider knob set to preset, and the preset depth maxed out.

Try playing some chords on the clean channel, and switch the preset/slider switch back and forth (but don't actually have the EQ activated) and see if there's not a faint amount of crackling in the background of your playing when the switch is on "preset" mode? It's faint but it's definitely there on both amps, but ONLY when it's switched to preset, with the depth maxed, and the EQ itself off. It's really strange and I'm not sure what to make of it given the fact that you'd think adjusting knobs and switches while they're not actually affecting the tone wouldn't cause any additional noise.

Thw fact it's happening with both amps makes me think it's an overlooked design flaw and not an issue with an individual amp. Anyone else try this and get the same results?

jaslan
Mark II
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 10:25 am

Re: Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by jaslan » Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:48 pm

I wasn't able to reproduce it but I didn't have the volume up very loud.

CakeJollamer
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:35 pm

Re: Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by CakeJollamer » Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:19 pm

jaslan wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:48 pm
I wasn't able to reproduce it but I didn't have the volume up very loud.
Interesting. I didn't have mine terribly loud either but I had it on these settings:

Channel 1 -
Gain: 10 o'clock
Master: 12
Presence: 12:30
Treble: 1:30
Mid: 9
Bass: 11
Fat
EQ footswitch
Any watt
Bold
V30 Orange cab

jaslan
Mark II
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 10:25 am

Re: Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by jaslan » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:23 pm

Ok. I "think" I can hear a slight "pfft" when I switch from "preset" to "sliders".
I have to be honest though, I am not sure why this is a concern.

CakeJollamer
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:35 pm

Re: Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by CakeJollamer » Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:18 am

I'm not talking about the sound when you actually flip the switch, I'm talking about a light crackling/distortion on an otherwise clean channel. Only when its switched to preset with the depth maxed, but not with the eq actually activated, if that makes sense.

It's not a big concern, but it is strange as it sort of makes the clean channel less than clean when those settings are in place.

User avatar
Eevil
Mark III
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:04 am
Location: Finland

Re: Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by Eevil » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:11 pm

Hi.

I don’t know technical implementation of the preset eq but theoretically, if the preset eq is a mid cut eq which has make-up gain it may overload (distort) the circuit after the eq. That would kinda explain the situation but I have no clue about the schematics so... :lol: it’s just a thought. The GEQ circuit OTOH doesn’t have such a feature.

... yet if my memory serves me at all correctly the sound with preset maxed would be already too well in the no-mids-land for my tastes :mrgreen:
Current:
- Bogner XTC
- Electra-Dyne 1x12 23” combo
- Studio preamp
- 4x12 Stiletto slanted

Gone:
- Mark III 60w/grx
- Diezel D-Moll
- Express 5:25
- Roadster head
- Triaxis / 2:50
- Stiletto Deuce Stage 1&2
- CAA OD-50
- Mark V
- 2x12 Recto Horiz.

CakeJollamer
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:35 pm

Re: Does anyone else's Mark V do this?

Post by CakeJollamer » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:23 pm

Eevil wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:11 pm
Hi.

I don’t know technical implementation of the preset eq but theoretically, if the preset eq is a mid cut eq which has make-up gain it may overload (distort) the circuit after the eq. That would kinda explain the situation but I have no clue about the schematics so... :lol: it’s just a thought. The GEQ circuit OTOH doesn’t have such a feature.

... yet if my memory serves me at all correctly the sound with preset maxed would be already too well in the no-mids-land for my tastes :mrgreen:

That's quite a theory lol. Do you think that could be the cause of additional gain occurring even when the channel theoretically shouldn't be affected, since it only occurs when the preset EQ is not activated?

Post Reply