The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:08 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 3:48 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:56 am
Posts: 137
Hi there,Im going to pick up a used lonestar classic but having owned one previously i know how much of a back breaker the combo is to move.Im considering just buying a combo and converting it to the rackmount version.Is this possible by removing the chasis from the combo and putting it into the rackmount case or are the chasis different sizes?If it is possible does anyone know how much the rackmount frame would cost?Ive emailed boogie and im still waiting on a reply,Any help much appreciated


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 1:27 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:31 am
Posts: 32
This is what you are looking for. I just spoke with them about a week or so ago. You won't be able to put the reverb tank in this chassis. http://mesa.stores.yahoo.net/kit-rkstr.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 5:36 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:56 am
Posts: 137
Oh really?Are you sure?It says on the boogie site that it the rackmount has reverb,although looking at the pic there aint no reverb tank in there.It does say in the quick overview section that it has reverb.Maybe thats just copied and pasted for all the different formats.I was onto boogie and they actually sent me the same link the other day.Thanks anyway.I guess ill only be using the rackmount for when im gigging so could take the chassis out as i wont be using reverb live i guess.Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:18 pm 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:31 am
Posts: 32
The person I spoke to at Mesa said that the Straight Front Chassis Kit is what is used for the Lonestar amps. People have mounted the reverb tank elsewhere in the rack if they still use it. The Lonestars have a fan in the amp so you don't need one in the chassis.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:57 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:51 pm
Posts: 3
Hi!

I live in the EU and a rackmount chassis would have set me back almost 400€. That's way too much for a box of steel. So this amazing guy who builds custom stuff for guitarists made one for me, worryingly inexpensive. It's being painted as I write this so I can't post a picture of it. But if you're interested please pm me and I'll keep you updated. I mean, the autocad drawings are already done so ordering a frame from him can't be too difficult.

/Ben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:40 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:56 am
Posts: 137
wowzers thats a lot of cash.would it fit in a regular rack do you reckon?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 4:55 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:51 pm
Posts: 3
Yeah it's the size of a 4U 19" rack. 5U if you want the reverb as well.. check out soulman vintage tone on instagram..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:07 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:51 pm
Posts: 3
Just wanted to add a pic of the rackmount Soulman Vintage Tone built for me.

http://i.imgur.com/fPg0rwu.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:52 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:56 am
Posts: 137
Nice!How much did it cost all in and does the lonestar fit into it nicely?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group