Is it possible to use other tubes than EL84´s in LSS ?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoombie woof

Reaction score
Hello friends!

I´m a newbie here and as you could see this is my first posting, so please, be good to me !!!!!

I have a Lonestar Special Head and it´s about time to change the tubes for the first time. Just like for all the rest of you guys, my life is nothing else than just a loooong chase for the perfect sound. A couple of days ago this question popped up in my head: How about putting in a set of other tubes than the standard EL84´s in my amp? What would happen? Am I going to destroy the amp forever? Will nothing happen, except for a (crappy) sound?

So for this week-end I´ve been stuck in front of my PC, trying to find some answers to my questions by google, but I´ve found nothing except for this Forum, which I think is the right place. Maybe there´s an old-timer here, able to answer my questions. Unless somebody here can help me out, I can live with ordering the usual set of EL84´s. No big deal.

But I would appreciate it very much, if somebody could give me some info about alternative tubes.

zoombie woof said:
Hello friends!

I´m a newbie here and as you could see this is my first posting, so please, be good to me !!!!!

I have a Lonestar Special Head and it´s about time to change the tubes for the first time. Just like for all the rest of you guys, my life is nothing else than just a loooong chase for the perfect sound. A couple of days ago this question popped up in my head: How about putting in a set of other tubes than the standard EL84´s in my amp? What would happen? Am I going to destroy the amp forever? Will nothing happen, except for a (crappy) sound?

But I would appreciate it very much, if somebody could give me some info about alternative tubes.