New Boogie User Lonestar Questions..

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oceantracks

Reaction score
Well I've kind of listened to a lot of amps lately. I grew up with most of the usual suspects and now use amps for studio work only. After doing a lot of listening, I started getting curious about MESA. I have had very little experience with MESA, always thinking of them as hard rock amps. I do play rock, but more of what I do is pop based, or alternative, not out and out heavy rock or metal. I need great cleans, and some nice edge. For some reason I had overlooked the Lonestar, thinking it was supposedly just like a big Twin Reverb. I didn't know until I listened to Andy Timmons just how great this amp sounded in overdrive mode. This sounds like the PERFECT amp for me. I realize I will probably never hear it at it's best at studio levels, but maybe I'll get a Ultimate Attenuator or something, or just run it in it's low wattage mode.

I am wondering what you guys think of using a 2*12 Mesa Rectifier cab with it like he does, and if so if there is anything I need to know about either the amp or best speaker set up....I'm getting close to ordering the amp.

Again, with all the boutique amps out there, I'm not sure why more people don't talk about Mesa amps (except for metal guys)...the company appears to put great care into their making, charges way less than boutique amps, and backs their amps with a great warranty. What's the catch? ;)

Thanks and any insight into this amp appreciated!

Tom