Lonestar v1 settings

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

toneguy86

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to this forum, but not to Mesas. I have been using this amp for close to 3 years now. I have the first version Lonestar 212 (all stock). I use a Les Paul and a PRS with P90s primarily and play funk, blues and rock in a couple of bands.

Last year I took the plunge from 6L6 land into EL34s and love that switch. It seems to really open the amp up and fill in some gaps, especially on channel 2. I love the added mid range and the more solid low end. It also seems to have cleared up a problem I was having cutting through the band. For some reason this amp sounded great in my basement and then got lost in the mix at gigs. I mic (an SM58 close miced) the thing, etc. but it still had issues.

My question: Anyone else have this problem? More importantly, what settings are you using?

My sound is sort of cross between Duane Allman and a more modern Gary Moore.

Mark

Welcome to the board! Never had that problem with my LSC under any settings. But I have heard that the 2x12 has a different vibe to it than the 1x12, and I guess a good place to start with as to why might be the speakers themselves. Isn't the 2x12 loaded with something other than C90s?

djw said:
Isn't the 2x12 loaded with something other than C90s?
Nope.

I would not depend on the mid, on the LSC for cutting the mix. Rather the treble and presence. I run both mine at 1:00-2:00. While the bass and mids around 10:00 or lower. I use the thick switch also.