Tube rattling

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Is tube rattling normal?

• Yes

Votes: 2 16.7%
  • No

Votes: 10 83.3%

• Total voters

DanielB

Reaction score
Hello everyone, i bought my first tube amp this past november and it is the Mesa Boogie Express 5:50. Absolutely love the amp but sadly i have had some problem with tube rattling. It has been back to the dealer twice on warranty and been looked over and it loooks like tube rattling is a problem i will just have to live with. As i am completely new to tube amps i have no idea but i have been told that it's quite normal and combos with 6l6's are more easily a victim to it.

Is tube rattling something normal? Is there something wrong with my amp? And is there anyway to fix tube rattling?

I had a 55 watt mesa boogie nomad 2x12 combo for a while. I had the same problems with tube rattle. It was really annoying. A tech looked at it but couldn't fix it. I eventually swapped it for an old mark III and converted it to a head. since then i had no more tube rattle problems.

DanielB said:
Hello everyone, i bought my first tube amp this past november and it is the Mesa Boogie Express 5:50. Absolutely love the amp but sadly i have had some problem with tube rattling. It has been back to the dealer twice on warranty and been looked over and it loooks like tube rattling is a problem i will just have to live with. As i am completely new to tube amps i have no idea but i have been told that it's quite normal and combos with 6l6's are more easily a victim to it.

Is tube rattling something normal? Is there something wrong with my amp? And is there anyway to fix tube rattling?

hahaha who told you it's normal - total BS.
Also total BS that 6L6 tube amps are more prone to it.
I've owned 10 different tube amps from 6 different makers over 20 yrs and also played over 100 different tube amps.