Mesa Newbie here...

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rgordon7

Reaction score
I'm a newly activated Boogie Board member. Just placed an order a few days ago for an "Express 5:25+ 1x12" combo in Emerald Bronco/Black Jute.... Reading this board was very informative and helpful as I was getting ready to pull the switch on this, my first Mesa. Until now, my amps have mostly been various flavors of Vox & Fender, as well as a Music Man and a Tech 21, so this will be a completely new experience. My musical taste tends to revolve around what I grew up with in the 60's - and most of my guitars are pretty "vintage voiced" - Fender Tele & Mustang, LP, Gretsch, Rickenbacker, Trussart. I'm really looking forward to experimenting with the 5:25+'s great range of flexibility - its ability to be tweaked to (non-digitally) evoke the sound and feel of some classic amps, but with a definite character of its own.

Welcome to the Boogie Board!!

I have a 5:25+ as well, so if you have any questions feel free to pm me.

A word of wisdom - read the manual first, as the tone stack on a Boogie is nothing like a Fender or Vox. If you start with everything straight up you'll be fighting it for a while. I tell new folks start with all the tone controls down, master at 9 o'clock, gain at 10 or 11. Turn up the treble until it has enough high end, then the mids, then the bass. Don't be surprised if you end up starting with treble on 10 or 11, mids on 10, bass on 9 (all o'clock numbers). Not what you'd expect. As most here on the boogie board will tell you, dial it in with you ears, not your eyes.

The 5:25+ Express is a great amp, with lots of options! Have fun!!

Al