express vs. f-100

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peedenmark7

Reaction score
hi guys I am new to the boogie forum.
I'll openly say that I do not currently own a mesa product but over the years have had more than my share of vintage marks.
about a year and a half ago , I came upon an orange tolexed with cane grill F-100 1/2 stack in one of the stores in my area.
I tried this amp out no less than 4 times before finally deciding it wasnt going to be what I had hoped. I must have brought 10 varying types of guitars over a 4 months period in hopes that I would hear something else...
coming from a rich vintage marshall background including plexis, mv's and jubs I suppose I am wanting some of that tone.
the gain on the f-100 was fine, different of course, but kind of hard to control at higher volumes.... I loved the cleans !
I tried the loop trick and it did help , man this is one loud f-ing amp !!
but... again... I wasnt 100% and walked from it 3 times.

even still, for some odd reason I cant stop from scratching this itch. I called the local store last week where the amp was hoping to trade some gear thats going unused against it ,but its gone... bummer because I really want the cane and orange tolex look.

the salesman claimed that the express is basically the same amp.

can anyone tell me what the differences are and what I can expect versus the f-100.? same loop trick etc?

peedenmark7 said:
hi guys I am new to the boogie forum.
I'll openly say that I do not currently own a mesa product but over the years have had more than my share of vintage marks.
about a year and a half ago , I came upon an orange tolexed with cane grill F-100 1/2 stack in one of the stores in my area.