Mark III Power Tube and speaker Question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cooperro

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I don't post much, but read your posts every now and then. I have a tube question, although I've had my Mark III simul-class since the mid-80's.

I'm ready to replace my 6L6's, and noticed on the Boogie website that the 5881 STR-425 is a 6L6 replacement that is "thicker" and rolls off the high end a bit. That appeals to me as my rock days are over, and I'm now a budding jazz guitarist.

So, do any of you like the 5881's? I have a store down here that stocks them.

Also, I bought a Cannabis Rex speaker with the thought of swapping it out with the stock EVM12L speaker for two reasons:
1) the Cannabis is lighter and
2) the cannabis might be more suited to that smokey L5 jazz tone I'm seeking.

I know the EVM12L handles a lot more power, but those days are over for me. And, as I'm in my 60's now, the Mark III combo is a killer to lug around.

Any thoughts on either subject would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob in Ft. Lauderdale

I use the 5881’s in my Simul c+’s to tame some of highs because they are a lot brighter then my HR’s. Even with the 5881’s I have to keep the presence on 2 or lower. Mike B. told me the only 6l6’s I could safely use in the Simul c+’s are the red color coded Mesa 5881’s. I’ve blown fuses trying other 6l6’s. The 5881’s seem to be more touch responsive and thicker sounding. They’re also very durable. I have a quad of Groove Tubes 6l6B’s (Same tube as the Mesa 5881’s) that are 25 years old that still sound great.

I've no experience with the Canabis Rex,but it would seem to me that the EV would be the most suited for the clean jazz tone you are looking for.

One to look into would be a Eminence L'il Texas. 100 watts, 4 lbs.