The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 3:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:46 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 9:17 pm
Posts: 19
Does the black Mesa Mark III footwswitch switch between the RII/Lead channel or the clean/Lead channel? I want to use this switch to make the amp a 2 channel amp by switching from clean/lead. Also can I use a regular guitar cable to hook this switch up? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:07 am 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:45 pm
Posts: 228
Yes to the guitar cable question, use it to plug the black footswitch into the footswitch jack under the guitar input jack on the front of the amp. Make sure both the rhythm 2 and lead knobs that pull to activate without the footswitch are pushed in. The amp should be in rhythm 1 ( clean channel) when the red light on the footswitch is lit and lead mode when you stomp it and the red light goes off. Rhythm 2 is a separate footswitch that plugs into the back of the amp. Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 6:56 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 9:17 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks for the reply. I just bought an original 80's black footswitch. I had a previous problem with another footswitch I bought. It was an aftermarket switch that didn't work. Now that I bought the original I hope I'll be good. It's a black stripe and the best amp I've ever owned.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:55 pm 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:45 pm
Posts: 228
Yeah boogies got a lot of mojo. Let us know how you make out hopefully THIS switch will do the trick, it should if all is working correctly , If not someone on the board should be able to help you out. Alot of knowledgeable Mark lll owners and non owners here. I'm not one, knowledgeable about trouble shooting that is but many are. Hopefully the new switch
works out for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:52 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 9:17 pm
Posts: 19
switch isn't working. I used a guitar cable to plug the switch into the amp under the "footswitch" input below the guitar input. I am not sure what is going on and why my amp won't take a footswitch. the light won't come on in that position, but if I plug it into the back of the amp under the "R2 switch", the light comes on... maybe I bought another broken switch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:29 pm 
Offline
Mark I
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:46 pm
Posts: 34
Just a long shot here from something that happened to me. If your footswitch has an LED and it doesn't have a dropping resistor in line with it the light will come on but it will not switch the channels.

I know the is a footswitch schematic around the forums here if you need.

(edit) Here is the schematic viewtopic.php?f=6&t=65512


Just a thought. :mrgreen:

_________________
'58 VOS Gibson Les Paul || 1981 Custom Stratocaster || 2014 Gibson Firebird || PRS Cst 24
Legacy 1 Head || Mesa 2x12 Cab || Modded Blues Jr || Boogie Mk III || Bassbreaker 15W
TC electronic Delay/Reverb || Plimsoul/Wah/Uni Vibe || EP Booster


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:22 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 9:17 pm
Posts: 19
there's a resister here. Everything looks good inside... the black box (I think it's a capacitor) inside looks a little aged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:26 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 9:17 pm
Posts: 19
maybe I can replace the switch part?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 12:53 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 147
Worse case, old MkIII footswitches can be found on ebay, along with newly made clones that do the job.

_________________
MkIII+ Simul-Class & Mesa MkIVb
Mark 4x12 Full Stack
Charvel 650 Custom/EMG85/SLV/SLV+SPC
Charvel San Dimas I Koa
B.C. Rich Eagle Evo2/Air Norton
ESP Eclipse EMG 81/60
Carvin DC127 Koa
Ibanez UV7BK
Charvel 475 XL + Exotic
Fender Tele
Carvin C780 A/E


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:51 pm 
Offline
Mark IV
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:12 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Petaluma, California
They're also available from our online store: http://mesa.stores.yahoo.net/hrtmkftsw.html

_________________
MESA/Boogie - Product Specialist/Customer Service - http://www.mesaboogie.com/support/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:50 am 
Offline
Mark III
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:13 pm
Posts: 244
Does anyone have a picture of the inside of the other Mark III footswitches (the Rhythm 2 footswitch and the EQ/REV footswitch)? I've attempted to build an EQ/Reverb footswitch that has indicator lights, but it's not working quite right. I know there isn't any power going to this switch to illuminate either LED indicator, but I installed a 9v battery, and it won't even engage either EQ or REV, even without LEDs.

_________________
Image
Mark III Coliseum KDRG | Mark III+ Coliseum KDRG | Mark III DRG | Mark IV (Head) | Mark IV (Combo) | Dual Rectifier Revision D | Dual Rectifier Revision G


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:49 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:53 am
Posts: 70
The Boss FS6 dual pedal will switch R1/R2 and Lead in one.

Image

I'm using one now with my Purple Stripe MKIII

With a stereo cable you can also switch reverb and EQ too.

Best thing is you can slot two FS6 pedals together to make a strip of four


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group