rocket 44 tech questions and mobility/transporting the amp

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sumpe

Reaction score
hi,
got rocket 44 (used of course, about 15 years old)
few questions (i am new to valve amps - this is my first, long waited, one)
- is the popping sound i hear when going from standby to on sometimes, after the amp is warmed up, normal?
- could i keep the amp in a tilted position to project the sound upwards or will it affect the valves in some obscure way?
- i have also noticed stepping on the foot switch gives a bit of funny noise, it lasts a few seconds and then disappears

Being new to valve amps, my first description is that the amp feels much more organic and i send that valves behave in their own way and are a bit sensitive to what happens so I am wondering if what i am picking up is something that solid state amps, by their very nature, would not pick up on.
PS: i love the amp

Another question: how are people transporting theirs on public transport? somebody had told me the rocket 44 are about 18kg. i have not weighted mine yet, but it does feel heavier thatn 18kg. I am considering getting a suitcase that fits it nicely to transport it around the bus/underground etc, but i wonder if people have found certain troyles etc to do the job well. i think i could lift a suitcase with it inside and maybe cushion its side, but again i want to protect the amp and have a sturdy solution since i plan on carrying it on a regular basis (1-3x per week) outside.

any suggestions? cheers

Hi,