20 years overdue for this DC3 trouble

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thingthatgoes

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a long time owner of an awesome DC3 that's had a gremlin since day 1. Side note, the loaner amp I had gotten in year 1 had the same problem.
I've got a bit of ELT education and I'm a tech for a living but not for anything like tube amps. So this is half for hobby and half because this amp is too important to me to get rid of.

Mesa DC3 (I believe first version). Channel "blending".
Since I've gotten this amp in the 90's it's had the most annoying intermittent issue. When on CH1, after the amp gets hot, CH 2 starts to "bleed" through. I'll hear a second sound with heavy distortion that sounds like a lower volume version of CH2. The Ch2 gain effects this sound completely. The CH2 bass/mid/high have a slight effect on the second sound. The original Rhythm channel sound is completely unaffected.

In the first year I sent the amp back for warranty service and they sent it back with new tubes. That worked for a week. I ended up putting in a fan to "fix" the issue. Now I want to really fix the issue. So here's where I'm at.

*I've swapped and rotated every tube. Can't isolate it to a faulty tube.
*I did the bias mod to no avail.
At first I thought one of the mechanical relay contacts might be getting sticky when it's hot but I can't get it to "unstick" when I tap them. With a DMM I see a DC voltage drop across the NC contacts when they're supposed to be open. So they seem to check out. Plus, I believe if the NC contacts are sticking closed then I'd get no sound at all when I drop the CH2 Master volume because that'd shunt the signal to ground, but the CH2 Master knob has no effect on the other sound.