DC5 A with 6V6s?

DC-2, 3, 5, 10
50 Caliber

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
j.hentschel
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:27 am

DC5 A with 6V6s?

Post by j.hentschel » Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:34 pm

Is there anybody with an idea about running the DC5 with a pair of 6V6s instead of 6L6s?
Of course it's about taming the power ...

Thanks or any suggestion!

Monsta-Tone
Donating Member
Posts: 5461
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:27 pm
Location: Maui Wowee!
Contact:

Re: DC5 A with 6V6s?

Post by Monsta-Tone » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:56 am

Check out the Master Volume Mod thread, or the DC Mods threads.
There is a resistor that is in parallel with your Output Volume knob.
If the resistor is removed (or bypassed with a push/pull pot like my amp has), then the amp is much more tame.

I think 6V6's would just take away a lot of the girth, but still be almost as loud.

I don't like to remove the option of having the resistor across the knob because it adds a LOT of aggression to the amp!
Try the push/pull pot, you'll like it!
Elvis said.......
Amp techs do get shocked. :shock:

emu!
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:33 am

Re: DC5 A with 6V6s?

Post by emu! » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:08 pm

I think the 6v6 pair has a different voltage input and different ohm output. You may be able to do it with Yellow Jacket converters.

But, I HAVE put an EL34 pair in mine with no mods. It gave it a little more sizzle.

Post Reply