The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:17 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:01 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:37 pm
Posts: 6
Hello fellow DC-5 modders,

I came up with a simple design for switching between a series or parallel FX loop. I've gathered insight from this forum in the past and thought I should reciprocate.

My design:
Image

Wiring:
Image

Drilled hole:
Image

Finished Project:
Image

I oriented the toggle switch so that parallel is the down position, while series is the up position.

FYI: My DC-5 is the a revision.

Enjoy!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:58 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:12 pm
Posts: 68
Location: The buckle of the Bible belt
Awesome mod. Anyone else tried it? Mine's already been switched to serial and honestly I'm not sure I'd want parallel back but nonetheless that is one wicked mod.

I take it worked out for you? Notice any difference between the time fx when you switch back and forth?

_________________
Image
DC-5B Head-Mesa 2x12 Halfback


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:09 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:37 pm
Posts: 6
I use a GT-8 (in manual mode) via the 4-cable-method, and the signal gets a bit squashed in the loop portion. Usually it doesn't bother me, but sometimes it does. It's kind of convenient to just flip a switch on the back of the amp, with the mix knob already dialed in, and then just switch to another pre-programmed patch setup for 100% wet delay.

I find it's more open with the parallel loop, but I prefer the series loop for the flexibility.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:01 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:30 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,

Can someone here help me out with how to correctly do this mod?

I see the new switch but can't quite tell where all the wires are going.
Is this accurate???:
Red 1 - center tap of pot
Red 2 - original red line (under the tip tie) gets removed from the FX send jack and goes to this pin (leaving the original send jack to center tap still there ???
Red 3 - Goes on top of existing corner (green wire)

White 1 - Empty
White 2 - White wire right side of pot gets removed and goes here
White 3 - from new switch to right side of pot.

What I'm really unsure of is the Red 2 and where that comes from seeing that its behind everything else in the diagram.

Here is my stock setup:
Image

and my new switch waiting to go in..
Image

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 1:23 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:37 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

In your photos:

1. The pre-existing red wire that is attached to the top terminal of the potentiometer, must be detached and connected to the middle-right terminal of your switch.
2. The top-right terminal of your switch must be connected via a new red wire to the top terminal of your potentiometer.
3. The bottom-right terminal of your switch must be connected via a new red wire to the middle terminal of your potentiometer.

4. The pre-existing white wire connected to the bottom terminal of your potentiometer, must be detached and connected to the middle-left terminal of your switch.
5. The top-left terminal of your switch must be connected to the bottom terminal of your potentiometer via a new white wire.

All the other wires stay as they originally were.

Please make there are absolutely no bits of metal floating around in there from the hole you drilled.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 1:17 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:30 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks.

Without that I would have certainly botched more than one connection there.

A quick note to any others who happen across this thread. I tried to give myself enough internal clearance but the hole I added for the new switch was still slightly too close to the circuit-board that's in there. I was able to mount the switch so it toggles side to side but not up/down. I'd suggest getting pretty close to the grill vent openings to ensure you have the clearance.

Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:01 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:37 pm
Posts: 6
You're welcome. So it's working now?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:14 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:12 pm
Posts: 68
Location: The buckle of the Bible belt
When the switch is in series is the mix knob inactive?

_________________
Image
DC-5B Head-Mesa 2x12 Halfback


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:11 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:37 pm
Posts: 6
Correct. It's only active in parallel.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group