DC- 5 No reverb, tried everything, what am I missing ?

DC-2, 3, 5, 10
50 Caliber

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
brucem
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:15 am

DC- 5 No reverb, tried everything, what am I missing ?

Post by brucem » Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:30 pm

First thing is I don't know if this is a A or B model.
But the first thing I did was to check the reverb pan & found that the input inductor was bad. Just got a new pan from Mojo.
The original pan was 9AB2A1B, they sent a 9AB2C1B which shouldn't make a difference. Right ?
Tried 3 different tubes in V5.
Made sure the cables were good & clean & even tried a new set.
Had a new reverb trans & tried that.
The voltages at V5 match the schematic.
And still no reverb.

I get the verb crash when I move the springs on the new pan.
So what am I missing ?
Could it be something with the relays or LDR's ?
Appreciate any help, Thanks
Bruce

BlackBoxy
Mark III
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:14 am
Location: France

Re: DC- 5 No reverb, tried everything, what am I missing ?

Post by BlackBoxy » Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:32 am

could be around Ry3a ry2b wicth is controled by a 4n33 optocoupler, i don't thing about involving relays, but switching matrix 4n33 , check it!
or maybe the Ftsw selector could be checked!

good luck

Orion_99
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: DC- 5 No reverb, tried everything, what am I missing ?

Post by Orion_99 » Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:58 pm

I had an issue with my dc-2 reverb. I solderd a lead from the ground of the output lead to the ground of the input lead and problem solved. Apparently grounding issues are common. I first tried a regular set of rca cables and it worked with them, so I would suggest trying that before pulling out the soldering gun.

brucem
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:15 am

Re: DC- 5 No reverb, tried everything, what am I missing ?

Post by brucem » Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:07 am

Problem solved, Orion-99 nailed it.
The original verb pan was 9AB2"A"1B (A=input grounded/output grounded)
Replacement was 9AB2"C"1B (C=input insulated/output grounded)
The original 1/4RCA input verb cable & jack are ungrounded.
I connected the output RCA jack's ground to the input jack's ground & changed
the verb cables w/new shielded cables.
Reverb is working now.
Thanks for the help !

Orion_99
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: DC- 5 No reverb, tried everything, what am I missing ?

Post by Orion_99 » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:36 am

I'm glad it worked for you. Its nice when the solutions are easy.

Post Reply