DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

DC-2, 3, 5, 10
50 Caliber

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

Post by FLYING V 83 » Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:13 pm

Howdy everyone!
My first post, just joined because I just scored a DC5 off ebay for $560!
I think it's the 'newer' version, as it doesn't have the rotary switch on the back for assigning the EQ, but has a 2-position toggle for rhythm/lead.
Front panel has rhythm/lead/lead EQ 3-position toggle.

Has the original 90W Black Shadow, single button footswitch & slip cover.
My questions are:
Assuming the single footswitch goes into the front panel 'footswitch' jack to change channels, do I use another single for the reverb/eq jack in the rear?
Or can I use a 2-button one with a stereo cable (ala Switchdoctor) that has separate reverb & EQ switches?
Or...can I use the 3-button DC3 'original' model that has channel, reverb & EQ with 2 separate cables, one a mono for chanel switching, the other a stereo for reverb/EQ switching?

For reference, I'll be using the clean channel mainly and running my pedalboard into it.
I've never used the effects loop on any amp I've ever owned, just don't believe in them.

Current gigging amp is a mid-80s Peavey heritage VTX 212 which is loud a hell, but weighs in at 93lbs and at 57 years old it's becoming too much to deal with.

Always wanted a Mesa and thought the DC5 would fill the bill for gigging.
(We're all old farts & don't play at ear-splitting levels, mostly weekend bar gigs)

All my guitars are 2-humbucker types, an LP Custom, SG standard (both white) and a Flying V.
Here's my pedalboard:
Image

Any help is appreciated, and I'm sure you'll be seeing me here often.
(Been on TGP & Tonefactor for years under the same moniker)
Last edited by FLYING V 83 on Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

gotmeaboogie
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 4:45 pm

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5, what to expect?

Post by gotmeaboogie » Sun Aug 18, 2013 5:10 pm

I can't be of any help with the switch problem but from the post I've read on this board there are plenty of very intelligent 'gear' guys who can point you in the right direction.

The one thing I can tell you after owning this amp for the past couple of months is that it takes pedals incredibly well, you will be very happy with how your board sounds running the clean channel. As for the effects loop I never ran pedals through the effects loop either and most of the amps I used didn't have loops anyway but I've been really impressed the effects loop on the DC and I'm now running the chorus and delay in the loop. You might want to give it a try.....you never know.

Enjoy the amp!

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5, what to expect?

Post by FLYING V 83 » Sun Aug 18, 2013 5:32 pm

Thanks for the input!
Last edited by FLYING V 83 on Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

User avatar
crguti
Mark II
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:49 am
Location: København
Contact:

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5, what to expect?

Post by crguti » Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:05 am

if you bought an amp then you asked what to expect, why to put a picture of your pedalboard? show us the amp !!!

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5, what to expect?

Post by FLYING V 83 » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:24 pm

It's shipping this week, trust me they'll be pictures! :D
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5, what to expect?

Post by FLYING V 83 » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:27 pm

It's here!! :D

Image

Image

Going to take it downstairs now & give it a run.
Still going to order the dual channel/eq footswitch and a single one for reverb, as I want all 3 functions available.
I don't think the single it came with is original to the DC5, but will try it anyway just to see.
The cover seems a little big for it also, so might grab an aftermarket one down the line.

Anyone know where I can get the aluminum brace for the back since it didn't come with one?
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

talltxguy
Donating Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Central Texas

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5 (now with pics!)

Post by talltxguy » Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:01 pm

Congrats on your new amp! The DC series are wonderful amps that are highly underrated.
YOUTUBE: mesafanintexas

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5 (now with pics!)

Post by FLYING V 83 » Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:34 pm

Just got done annoying the neighbors. :D

This lil' sucker is LOUD!!!

Anywhere past 2 on the Global and I'll wake the dead.

All functions work, got a sweet clean tone and of course, a killer Recto gain.

Already sold the Bogner Blue pedal to offset the cost, and may not need the Megalith Delta either.....
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5 (now with pics!)

Post by FLYING V 83 » Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:53 pm

One question about the footswitch it came with:
There's two jacks on one side. Bottom one activates the LED and changes channels, top one does nothing.
What's it for? Silent recording channel switching? 2nd amp?
Nothing in the manual or on the website about it, and I'm pretty sure it's not the one supposed to come with a DC5
The footswitch does work the reverb on/off in the bottom jack but the LED doesn't light doing so.

Going to get a 2-button switch using a TRS stereo cable for channel/eq through the front jack & use the Mesa 1-button for reverb on/off.
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

User avatar
bendo
Mark III
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:52 pm

Re: DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

Post by bendo » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:15 am

I believe that is what is for to control the Reverb.

The reverb on/off is controlled by simply taking Pin 7 of V5 to ground. There are no relays involved with this. So a simple stop switch can complete the circuit to ground, and mute the reverb circuit. Fender has been doing it this way for 60 years or so.

You need the Channel/EQ switch, and then you can use your other switch to control the reverb. The Channel/EQ switch will plug into the front with a TRS cable and allow you to switch off the EQ as well. With an LED for that too.

The LED will not work with the channel switch you have on just the reverb, as the reverb line does not provide enough voltage to power LEDs. If you want an LED, you will have to go with external power, or get creative and add a powered switch relay for the reverb. This is what I did with my DC3. It keeps the reverb signal in the chassis, doesn't jack with the sound of the reverb. I was also able to add an LED to the chassis for Reverb, and an LED in the footswitch that are powered by the cable from the amp.

Check Hoffman amps dot com for information on the powered relay setup. It's about 30 bucks and an afternoon of your time with a soldering iron.

You need the footswitch to the right in the pic below:

Image

Chassis LED:

Image

Internal of Switched Relay:

Image
BDR529

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

Post by FLYING V 83 » Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:06 am

Thanks Bendo, but I'm not inclined to do any mods to the amp at all.
The 1-button footswitch works the reverb, just doesn't light the LED so I'm OK with that (I can hear if the reverb is on or not)

Ordered this one along with a 25ft right-angle TRS cable:
Image
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

User avatar
bendo
Mark III
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:52 pm

Re: DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

Post by bendo » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:19 pm

Understood. That switch should work.
BDR529

zerofivefour
Mark II
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:34 pm
Location: San Antonio

Re: First Post: Just scored a DC5, what to expect?

Post by zerofivefour » Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:37 pm

FLYING V 83 wrote:It's here!! :D
Flying V 83!

Welcome to the boogie board! Good to see you found your way over here!

Where have I seen that DC 5 before? :roll: :D :D

Really glad to hear that you are enjoying your new rig!
Boogies Rule!!!



FLYING V 83 wrote:Anyone know where I can get the aluminum brace for the back since it didn't come with one?
Get some Aluminum U channel, maybe at home depot, lowes etc. Cut to length, drill some holes in it and you are good to go.
You can do a search on google, Amazon.com,

links below:

http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywor ... pz0ntj21_b

https://www.google.com/search?q=aluminu ... annel=fflb

Cheers,

Tom

Image
Mesa 4 Space Ractifier, Dual Rectifier Rack mount Head, Rev. F
Mesa Triple Rectifier Chrome-Chasis Dual Channel Head, Rev. F
Mesa 2:90 Poweramp (blue light)
CAE 3+SE (Suhr Modded)
Mesa 4x12 Traditional Cab
Mesa 2x12 Recto Cab

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

Post by FLYING V 83 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:50 pm

Hi Tom!
Guess we're one of the few regulars left on the TF boards, huh?

Did my first gig with the DC5 on Friday and it sounded great!
Had the channel volumes @ 3 & master just below 2 and it was drowning out the band.
:D

Graphic EQ works great as a volume/solo punch, will probably use it that way.
Did two 75 min. sets and it never broke a sweat, no 'getting hot' problems, just pure tube tone for days!
Took all my pedals well (never use loops on amps so everything's thru the front).
Not a bad thing to say about my new gigging amp.

Thanks for the tip on the U-channel stuff, might not even bother as it sits just fine on my tilt-back stand.

It came with a nice woven Mesa cover but it's too wide (27") for the DC5, looks more like a 2x12 cover.
Ordered the right one from Mesa & will take pix & put the other one up in the Classifieds.
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

User avatar
FLYING V 83
Mark I
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: DC5 (now with pics!) and another footswitch question

Post by FLYING V 83 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:59 pm

Here's my new gigging rig set up in my basement
(sorry, not a 'glamour shot' at all :) )

Image

Here's the Switch Doctor switch (got it 5 days after ordering) mounted on the board,
and the old channel switch renamed for it's new duties:
Image
OVERDRIVE ADDICTION

Post Reply