Noobie (for a long time) question about DC 5

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macdaddyof9

Reaction score
Hello all. Sorry if this is too basic a question. How can you possibly practice with this amp? It is so loud! It goes from off, to muffled, empty sounding at .5 to ear bleeding at 1 to head exploding at 1.5 on the master volume. I finnaly got a chance to play it outside on the fourth. I got the master to 2 lol. then to 5. I'm sure i was louder than the fireworks. I really love channel 1 one with the gain pulled out. the lead I haven't really found my sweet spots yet. Channel one clean is about as clean as I care for, so it's perfect for me. But it's just so loud! Does anyone run attenuators? or isolation cab? or am I just too sensitive? I usually practice through my bugera v5 but I really want to go american with all my equipment. BTW, I have very little experience, I'm a goof off player. never gig. only jam once in a wile.

Remove the 220K resistor in series with the Output Control, and change the output control to a 1MA push pull gain pot ( or 1MA pot works just fine too). You can follow the modification instructions provided here: http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=58252 . This will give you a much more usable range on your Output Control. FYI, because of the nature of our tone controls, and the fact that they feed the gain circuits, it is necessary to adjust your tone controls for lower volume levels to get a good tone. Gain, Treble, and Mid usually need to be backed off a bit when playing at louder output volumes. And, can be turned up at lower volumes.

Output Volume Mod:
This mod basically removes the 220K resistor that is placed in parallel with the input and the wiper of the Output Volume pot.
The reason for this mod is to make the amp much more user friendly at lower volumes.

I take this one a step farther.....