The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:48 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 2:01 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:17 pm
Posts: 113
Wow, I haven't visited this site in almost 2 years! I can't believe all of the DC love now. 2 years ago there wasn't much DC talk on this board, but now it looks like more people have seen the light!

Anyway, Ive owned my DC-5 for 12 years and have finally decided to get an effects unit. I just ordered a G major and was wondering if the kill/dry mode on the g major works good enough for home use ( I don't play in a band ), or should I mod the effects loop to series?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:24 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:17 pm
Posts: 113
I guess my question wasn't very good. Well now that I have my G major I can answer it myself.

Answer: Yes, I need to modify my effects loop to series. The parallel loop is terrible even with the kill/dry engaged. I lost a lot of volume if the mix was turned up past 50% and the effects just didn't sound right.

I couldn't find any instructions on how to do the mod so I just figured it out myself. It is really quite easy. Anyone with electrical knowledge including a novice should be able to do it.

Here are some instructions for anyone who wants them.

1) Remove the 2 orange wires from the send jack. One wire goes to the mix pot, the other goes back to the board. Remove the one that goes to the mix pot completely. It is not needed.

2) Remove the red wire from the mix pot and connect it to the orange wire that goes back to the board. This eliminates the parallel circuit and makes it series.

3) Cut the white wire from the mix pot and tape off the end.

That's it! It took me about an hour and I had no instructions.
If anyone sees anything wrong with what I did please let me know.

Anyone who is running effects in their loop should do this mod. The difference is amazing!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:12 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:58 am
Posts: 4431
Location: Greenville. SC
Hey bud, glad you got it figured out. The DCs have a pretty good sounding loop, but you just can't beat a series loop for effects (especially delay)!

_________________
Mark V:25 | Mini Rectifier 25 | Mini Rec 1x12 | Fractal Audio FX-8
'06 EBMM JP6 (Mystic Dream) | '15 Epi ES-339 PRO (Cherry) | '11 PRS SE245 (Tobacco Sunburst)
'05 PRS SE Soapbar II (Vintage Cherry) | '92 Peavey Predator USA (Custom)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:01 pm 
Offline
Mark III
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:37 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Wisconsin
your method works or you can just 1 cap off white wire and 2 move the red wire on the pot to the center terminal on the pot the one with the two orange wires

like monstertone said though you can always put the wires right on the jacks and bypass the pot to get another hole for something else

_________________
Mark IV medium head noAnoB
Dual Caliber DC10 combo 2x12
EB JPMM mystic dream with piezo.
1x12 DIY thiele w/ EVM12L classic reissue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:15 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:41 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks for the instructions. Ive always hated the loop on my DC-3!!

_________________
Randy

'81 Mk2b 60w (black tolex)
'81 Mk2b 100w, reverb, EV12S (black tolex)
'89 Mk3 SimulClass (black tolex)
'91 Mk1 RI (cream/jute)
'06 Mk1 RI (wine/jute)
'89 DC-3 combo (gray tolex)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:24 am 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:27 pm
Posts: 5447
Location: Maui Wowee!
:D Right on!

I've never looked back since I changed mine over.
On my Maverick, I installed a switch where the pot was to toggle between parallel and series. Since I use it for more bluesy stuff, I thought it couldn't hurt. Never know when I might just buy an old analog delay or something.
Plus, since it's cathode biased, I don't need a spot for a bias pot.


I installed a bias pot on my DC's though. Great place for it!
Or...a 5-way mid sellector switch for the lead channel?


Anyway, sounds like I need some coffee! Congrats!

_________________
Elvis said.......
Quote:
Amp techs do get shocked. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:15 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 4
I am very interested in the series loop mod for my DC5 and would like to see the diagram, could someone forward to me? Thanks Mark

mrkxx@comcast.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:39 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:17 pm
Posts: 113
Sorry, I don't have any diagrams or pictures of it. If you have any experience with a soldering iron then my instructions should be pretty easy to follow. It actually took me longer to get the amp out of its shell than it did to do the mod.

If you can't figure it out I'll take a picture of what mine looks like now and you can compare it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:04 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 4
it sounds easy, I would just like to have a frame of reference and thought there maybe a diagram floating around.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:06 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 6:44 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Boston Ma
Thanks for the easy instructions. If I can do this mod believe me anyone can do it. I use delay and chourus and what a difference. Thanks :mrgreen:

_________________
Billboogie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:30 pm 
Offline
Single Recto

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:05 pm
Posts: 1050
OK, dumb question here, but may I ask why those of you who use the fx loop why you do so instead of going through the front? Please note I am not referring to using a rack setup where it makes obvious sense, but just the use of pedals or a multi fx unit like the Boss GTs. I tried using the loop long ago and just didn't get what the plus was? What is it I am missing? (and please, no 4-cable methods ...ugh ;) ).

And as a corrolary, why would one choose parallel over serial ...is there a rationale or specific use behind it that Mesa would build it this way? Thanks!

Edward

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:17 pm
Posts: 113
Time based effects like delay and chorus sound better after the preamp.
The reason why series loops sound so much better is because the entire signal passes thru the loop, where as in a parallel loop some of the signal goes directly to the output stage of the amp. This causes issues with time based effects because the dry part of the signal goes to the output faster than the wet part of the signal. That very small difference in the time it takes for the wet signal to pass thru the loop screws up what you hear at the output.

The idea of using a parallel loop is in my opinion out dated because the reason for a parallel loop is so when using effects your amps tone comes thru uncolored by the effects. These days effects are so transparent that it is just not needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:24 pm 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Northern Ireland
Another dumb question re the series loop mod.

If I do the series mod what then does the mix pot do? does it still have a mix function for dry/wet?

I guess it still functions but I had to ask :?

Oh and another question, I have an old Rockman rack setup with the distortion/chorus units in it which I really like the sound of but it just doesnt sound good thru my DC5 would the series mod make it sound better or worse or just the same? I dont use the delay on it just the chorus.

Cheers..........

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:34 am 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:27 pm
Posts: 5447
Location: Maui Wowee!
The pot will do nothing after the mod. That's why I end up just bypassing it altogether and making all solder connections on the jacks themselves.
On my Maverick, I installed a switch to change the Loop from Series to Parallel so that I can choose. It has much less gain than my DC-10 and I like the idea of being able to use pedals instead.



The Rockman unit should sound better with a Series loop, but if you are using the distortion on the unit, it should go in front of the amp. I haven't found a distortion pedal that works very well in the loop. It's simply too much signal amplification for this stage of the preamp.

_________________
Elvis said.......
Quote:
Amp techs do get shocked. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DC effects loop mod
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:41 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:17 pm
Posts: 113
I realized something while installing a new send jack today. I forgot to solder the orange and red wire to the switch terminal on the send jack. If you don't do this you will have to use a patch cable thru your loop when you are not using it or you will get no sound. My instructions in the 2nd post doesn't say to do this and I'm sorry for any headaches this has caused anyone.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group