The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:09 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:47 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:18 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Chicagoland, Illinois, USA
My buddy just picked up a 50+ and found out it is not operating properly.

After 30 min or so the volume just completely cuts out. It comes back if he puts on standby for a second and back on or just turns off and on it comes back.

Anyone know what causes this?

Thanks,

Bobby

_________________
"Be excellent to each other." - Bill and Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:09 am 
Offline
Mark IV
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:26 am
Posts: 870
Location: So Cal
Sounds a bit like the problem I had with my Stiletto....
A filter Capacitor in the power supply was the cause. But that may cause just a partial drop in volume.
Also a preamp tube can do this. The power tubes aren't likely the cause; both (or all 4 if el84's) cutting out at the same exact time is very, very unlikely. Also the PI (driver to the power tubes, usually farthest from the input jack) would have to have both sides fail at the same time.
This assumes it cuts out completely as opposed to a drop in volume, if I understand your description accurately.
Start with v1 and swap tubes 1 at a time. Wait long enough after each swap, to be sure the problem shows up

If it's intermittent, it can be a pain, but try to eliminate a tube problem before taking to a tech. This will save you (or your friend in this case) time and money in the long run.

Good luck :D

_________________
Stiletto Ace head
Triaxis/50-50
4x12 and 1x12 cabs
Studio Cal 22+
Various Hamer, G&L, Jackson

"Old rockers never die; we just start to smell that way...or is it the amp?"

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 3:46 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:03 pm
Posts: 31
well, ive had the same problem on my cal50+. In service theyve done everything and it was for nothing. On the 3rd service control we've found, that the opto-isolator, which serves to switching channels, was damaged, so in the end, the problem was just one diod, but before it they've totaly changed every connection,so ive handwired Cal50+ :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:38 am 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:06 am
Posts: 445
Try replacing the fuse and see if that helps, they're in exoensive and easy to change. I had a similar problem with one of my amps and that corrected it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:10 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:18 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Chicagoland, Illinois, USA
Thanks everyone. I am forwarding this link to my bud so he can give everything a shot.

I will give an update after he has fixed or gotten through these.

_________________
"Be excellent to each other." - Bill and Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:36 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 2
Did you ever solve your 50 Cal+ cutting out problem? My friend is going through the same thing now. ANy tips woul dbe appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:38 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:18 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Chicagoland, Illinois, USA
Still waiting to hear back from my buddy. I will post once I find out if anything clicked.

_________________
"Be excellent to each other." - Bill and Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 50+ problem
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 12:57 pm 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:27 pm
Posts: 5463
Location: Maui Wowee!
Don't know if you've tried this yet, but put a good patch cable in your FX Loop.

Doesn't matter if you've been using it or not, try it.

Just plug it in between the Send and Return. Might not fix the problem, but if it does, at least you know what to replace.

Sometimes the jacks just crap out.

_________________
Elvis said.......
Quote:
Amp techs do get shocked. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group