DC 5 Combo Cleaning/Prep

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Casper

Reaction score
Hi folks, Newbie here. As I said in my first post, I bought a DC-5 used from GC. I am about to take it apart and spray the pots out with some contact cleaner and re-tube the amp. Anything I need to know about while doing this? I don't know much about these things, but spraying pots, dusting out the unit and changing tubes sounds prety simple. There is also a volume mod for the Master Vol I could do while I have the chasis out. It involves clipping a capacitor on the pot itself? Anybody care to chime in on this topic? Any and all advice wanted..
Thanks
Shaun

Congrats on the DC-5. Great amp. If you've never been inside an amp before let me warn you not to touch those big blue capacitors. Ouchy or death might result. They can be safely drained if you need to work on them.

I've heard a lot about the volume mod but haven't done it because I keep the level around 3-4. If I understand that mod correctly it's so you don't have such a drastic jump in volume once you get it around 2. I did do the fx loop mode turning it to serial. Very worthwhile if you use your loop much. There is a lot of information here about that amp so you may want to read some old posts if you're just looking for general information. Now that you have a DC series amp you may want to join the Official DC club. :D

Wow! Thanks for the replies guys and for the advice MJ! Thats good information. Like i said, I don't plan on really doing anything other than sparaying out the pots, using some canned air to blow any dust off and then change the tubes. I will look for any breaks in solder joints as well, but if it needs work, I'll let my tech fix it.