Mark III Graphic EQ repair

Mark I's, II's, III's and the almight IV

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
metalcat
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:59 pm

Mark III Graphic EQ repair

Post by metalcat » Fri May 29, 2015 8:11 pm

Hello everyone...it's been awhile, but I'm in the market for a Mark III. On one of the amps nearby I could potentially purchase has the graphic eq, but one of the sliders no longer works. Is this something I could easily fix on my own? Or must I send it in to Mesa for repair?

User avatar
Don
Single Recto
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: Mark III Graphic EQ repair

Post by Don » Fri May 29, 2015 9:13 pm

It depends on how handy you are with a soldering iron. I replaced a slider and an inductor on the GEQ board on my DC3. It's not a big deal if you're comfortable desoldering on PCBs.

kippiejr
Mark III
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: Mark III Graphic EQ repair

Post by kippiejr » Sun May 31, 2015 1:51 pm

As well as removing the faceplate, you will have un soldier the pilot light as well...
"Gone to the Mark side of the force."

Paul Johnson
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:27 am

Re: Mark III Graphic EQ repair

Post by Paul Johnson » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:08 am

Don wrote:It depends on how handy you are with a soldering iron. I replaced a slider and an inductor on the GEQ board on my DC3. It's not a big deal if you're comfortable desoldering on PCBs.
Hi,
What was the behavior of your EQ for you to need to do this?

Cheers, Paul

Post Reply