Footswitch issue

F-30, 50 and 100's

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
octobersings
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:45 am

Footswitch issue

Post by octobersings » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:59 am

Hi there,

Just joined a new band and (finally) have the chance to use my F-50 again (very, very pleased!).

However, when using the footswitch to switch from CH2 to Ch2+Contour I get a second of quiet signal before it comes up to full volume. Is this normal? I want to use the Ch2+Contour for lead stuff, but that volume dip is not good.

Also, switching channels (or just switching from CH2 to Ch2+Contour) means the reverb dips out completely for about 3 seconds. Sounds weird. Does anyone else get that? Is that normal?

Thanks.

User avatar
elvis
Donating Member
Posts: 2560
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA

Re: Footswitch issue

Post by elvis » Fri May 01, 2015 12:30 pm

Not normal IIRC. Try a new cable. Bad connections can cause this kind of thing with Mesa switching.
Mini Rectifier blue LED
Stiletto ACE
Recto 2x12 Vertical
Recto 2x12 Wedge

octobersings
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:45 am

Re: Footswitch issue

Post by octobersings » Sat May 02, 2015 12:20 am

Thanks Elvis. Much appreciated.

I also have that common white noise issue. Time to visit the amp doctor, I think. Authorised Mesa Service technicians are really hard to find here in the UK. Looks like I'll be shipping her from Brighton to Scotland (ouch!).

Thanks again for your help.

User avatar
thunda1216
Mark IV
Posts: 522
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: Footswitch issue

Post by thunda1216 » Sun May 03, 2015 12:14 am

does your amp have an effects loop? if so, spray some contact cleaner on an instrument cable plug and work it in and out of the effects jacks several times. the loop's jacks are part of the circuit even if not used and can become dirty/corroded over time. Regular cleaning can remedy this. I had the same problem as you, and went through all kinds of grief before I figured it out. I use a short jumper cable in my effects loop when I don't use it and rotate the plugs before each use to clean the gunk off them.
When Gibsons are outlawed, only outlaws will have Gibsons

octobersings
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:45 am

Re: Footswitch issue

Post by octobersings » Wed May 06, 2015 5:55 am

Thanks thunda. I'll give that a try.
Cheers.

User avatar
OldTelecasterMan
Mark III
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:55 am
Location: California

Re: Footswitch issue

Post by OldTelecasterMan » Mon May 18, 2015 1:14 am

My F30 was doing that. I replaced the cable it went away, then came back, then I replaced the footswitch. Fixed. working ever since.
Boogie F-30
Mark V
Fender Hotrod Deluxe
Two 2X12 Vert. Cabs.
Two 2x12 Compact Cabs.
Telecasters, Gibson Les Paul, Gibson Howard Roberts Jazz Fusion and many more.
http://www.mp3unsigned.com/Peter_Savell

Post Reply