F-30 Parallel to Series FX mod results?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ggc

Reaction score
Hi folks!

I'm new to the board, but I've been enjoying my F-30 combo for several years now. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts regarding the parallel to series FX loop mod. I found an explanation of how to perform the mod, and it seems pretty simple, so I was thinking of giving it a try.

I use a Line 6 M-13 for effects, and use the 4 cable method so I can route effects into the amp or through the loop. The problem is, since the M-13 doen't have a 100% wet output, if I don't set the effects volume at full, I get a comb filtering effect, but when I set the effects volume at full, I lose flexibility (I can't for example have loud or quiet delay effects, I have to settle for something in between, because the only control I get for effects volume is the FX loop mix knob).

I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has done the mod, and how you feel about the results...What are the advantages/disadvantages...etc...

Thanks very much in advance!

p.s.
I'm not very handy, but this looks like a pretty simple soldering job...Is there anything that I need to be particularly careful of poking around inside of an amp?

Thanks again!

I would definitely change the effects loop to series,it's the only way to get the Line 6 M13 to work right.I was thinking about getting the Line 6 M13,Digitech RP1000,or the TC Electronic Nova System.I ended up getting the TC Electronic Nova System.

I changed the effects loop on the F-30 to series and I have'nt had any problems with it so far.It's a simple modification,all you need is a soldering iron(looks just like a woodburner) and needlenose wire clippers.I even used the little bit of solder that was on the first wire to connect it to the second.I used electrical tape to seal up the third wire after I disconnected it.