Help with bad speakers, Roadster 2x12 combo

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tzoranski

Reaction score
I own a 2008 Roadster 2x12 combo and recently I noticed that it started sounding toney and brittle. After a lot of troubleshooting turns out it was the speakers. I wired it up so I could listen to one speaker at a time and sure enough one of the speakers had a loss of bass, sounded brittle and was also breaking up ever so slightly.

I've never had a speaker go bad before so I'm very new to this process. My plan was to replace the bad speaker with a new UK Vintage 30 from the Meas website. Before I go that route I have a few question tho. First, does it make more sense to replace both speakers or just the bad one. I'm not sure if it makes more sense to have two new ones or mix a new with and old. Second, I was wondering if a vintage 30 made in 2008 is better than a new one made in 2018. I hear a lot of people talking about how the UK speakers are better than the Chinese made speakers. Lastly what makes a speakers go bad like this? Could it have been something i've done. I've played an amp with bad speakers before but it was always obvious that the speaker was torn or something. My speaker doesn't show any tears or rip in the cone. I can't see any issue with it besides how it sounds. Do speakers just go bad every 10 years or so?

Any thought would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.