The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:04 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:37 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:39 am
Posts: 15
Hi.
My multi-watt dual recto has got some strange channel switching issue recently. With fx loop on, footswitch connected, channels controlled from the fts, from time to time it changes from ch2 to ch1 on it’s own, just for a slight moment, and then reverts to ch2. Can it be something related to the footswitch itself or it’s cable? Or can it be something more „internal”/„trip to a tech”?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:48 pm 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:24 am
Posts: 121
Miro9486 wrote:
Hi.
My multi-watt dual recto has got some strange channel switching issue recently. With fx loop on, footswitch connected, channels controlled from the fts, from time to time it changes from ch2 to ch1 on it’s own, just for a slight moment, and then reverts to ch2. Can it be something related to the footswitch itself or it’s cable? Or can it be something more „internal”/„trip to a tech”?


Using the backpanel pot to set a channel, do the lights on the footswitch stay on or off?

Also, using the back panel pot to set a channel and disconnecting the footswitch cable, what happens?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:16 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:39 am
Posts: 15
I reseated fts cable but unfortunatelly will be able to give it a spin later. I’ll also check it without footswitch. When it changes from ch2 to 1 the light on the amp changes but on the switch stays at the orange. Also, if it’s important, Fx loop engaged (fx loop light on) did not disengage while channels switched.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:27 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:39 am
Posts: 15
Ok, so it seems it doesn’t switch channels when it’s set to ch2 manually, at the back, with footswitch disconnected. I changed cable but the problem persist. When left on standby, with fts engaged, in ch2, it switches to 1 in some time, and sometines rapidly jumps between them. When switch is connected and I change channels manually, at the back, the light on it just go off (completely - chs, fx, solo, mute).
Could it be just some dirty socket? Or damaged footswitch or some amp switching circuit?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:25 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:39 am
Posts: 15
A little update: after 2 or 3 days, and some toying with footswitch connection, it stoped switching channels by itself, for the time being at least. Now I’m even more puzzeled if it is just some weird situational thing or just postponed problem:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:03 am 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:24 am
Posts: 121
Miro9486 wrote:
A little update: after 2 or 3 days, and some toying with footswitch connection, it stoped switching channels by itself, for the time being at least. Now I’m even more puzzeled if it is just some weird situational thing or just postponed problem:)


I had a very similar issue with my 2005 Triple 3ch (using old long footswitch).

I had to send it to fix. It was discovered that an LM3914 (If I remember it correctly) and a diode were broken.

In my case, the amp switched by itself after a couple of minutes it was turned on.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group