The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:13 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 4:36 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 4:23 am
Posts: 3
Hello all,

I just purchased a 1996 Tremoverb head from Reverb.com.
I got the amp today, and the tubes were removed for shipment.

When I started to put the first tube in, I found that the base of the tube hit the chassis before the pins reached the sockets.
I'm wondering something. Are the tube sockets supposed to be flush with the ports on the chassis?
Because the way it is now, there is no way a tube would fit in the hole. And the sockets are at least 3\4 of an inch below the ports in the chassis.

I'm trying to figure out if I was shipped a damaged amplifier, if so I'll have to return it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:56 am 
Offline
Single Recto

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:58 pm
Posts: 1240
Location: seattle wa usa
If I am understanding correctly the tube socket on mine and every other amp I have ever seen the sockets are about the same. I've never seen any amp where the socket is below the frame.

Go look at photos of Tremoverbs.

_________________
The fact that Stephen appears from nowhere, is sentenced to death in an emotional public trial without anyone interfering at all and is then altogether forgotten as if nothing happened, is already suspicious.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:45 am 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:52 am
Posts: 3072
Location: New Haven, CT U.S.A.
chaosrecords wrote:
Hello all,

I just purchased a 1996 Tremoverb head from Reverb.com.
I got the amp today, and the tubes were removed for shipment.

When I started to put the first tube in, I found that the base of the tube hit the chassis before the pins reached the sockets.
I'm wondering something. Are the tube sockets supposed to be flush with the ports on the chassis?
Because the way it is now, there is no way a tube would fit in the hole. And the sockets are at least 3\4 of an inch below the ports in the chassis.

I'm trying to figure out if I was shipped a damaged amplifier, if so I'll have to return it.

Are you talking about the preamp tubes? Yes, those sockets are recessed, but I've never seen a 12AX7 that wouldn't fit through the hole in the chassis. Are you sure you have the pins lined up properly?

Dom

_________________
'07 Roadster Voodoo modded
'08 Stiletto Deuce II
'10 Mark V
'01 Recto 4X12 Slant
'04 Recto 4X12 Slant/Straight
'74 Les Paul Custom
'95 American Strat
'12 Les Paul Signature T
Slinky's & Jazz III's
Voodoo Labs MIDI
==> NOMAD on Facebook <==


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:50 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 4:23 am
Posts: 3
I understand the need for asking that question, but yes of course I have everything lined up properly. I have owned 6 other Mesa amps and never seen an issue like this.

Lining up the pins is not part of the equation at this point though, because the base of the tube hits the chassis before the pins even get near the socket.
The holes in the chassis are not large enough to fit a tube though, and I have tried about 60 at this point (I have a very large stock of NOS and modern tubes).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:53 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 4:23 am
Posts: 3
stephen sawall wrote:
If I am understanding correctly the tube socket on mine and every other amp I have ever seen the sockets are about the same. I've never seen any amp where the socket is below the frame.

Go look at photos of Tremoverbs.



Check it out.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:29 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Michigan
Definitely doesn't look right. Here is another 1996 one:[url https://www.gbase.com/gear/mesa-boogie- ... 1996-black[/url]

_________________
2012 Mess Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster Head


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:24 am 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:04 am
Posts: 57
Location: Finland
It seems that the board itself has moved inside the amp? Are those plastic pcb holders locked correctly?

_________________
Urea Jacta Est


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:07 pm 
Offline
Single Recto

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:58 pm
Posts: 1240
Location: seattle wa usa
Does not look like mine. Something is wrong.

_________________
The fact that Stephen appears from nowhere, is sentenced to death in an emotional public trial without anyone interfering at all and is then altogether forgotten as if nothing happened, is already suspicious.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group