Mesa PCB Soldering Tips

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3124+

Reaction score
I am preparing to restore a heavily mutilated Dual Rectifier head. It will be necessary to replace some components on the main PCB, and I do not want to damage any traces or lift any solder pads. My soldering tool is a Weller WLC100 station. I have lots of experience building and repairing PTP amps, eyelet boards, and single sided PCB designs. However, I do not have much experience working on plate-thru Mesa boards. Any information, advice, tips, tricks would be greatly appreciated... best soldering/desoldering techniques, recommended iron heat, tip size, best process of removing radial caps, etc. The objective is to make this amp look factory fresh inside and out.

Mesa puts a lot of effort into their boards to make them sturdy and the traces look solid. I would use a small conical tip with a desoldering pump. You need room to get the tip and the pump to the joint. The amount of solder and component lead from the factory is tiny, so a smaller area of contact isn't a big deal and allows room to work. The less you have to mess with each one, the smaller the chances of lifting.

For the temp, a little under 700 F will help with keeping the heat from lifting copper, unless you have really awesome reflexes and a good aim with the pump. If the solder doesn't flow well enough, gently increase the temp until it does work to your satisfaction.