New Single Rectoverb owner

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NoelH

Reaction score
Hey, a newbie here. Just got a Single Rectoverb 50 head for a pretty killer price. I have been a Marshall-style amp guy most of my life. I bought this as a backup, but thinking I may use it a LOT more than I anticipated. I'm pretty impressed thus far.
So being more of a Marshall guy, I'm thinking I will run El34s in her to somewhat tame the lower-mids/bass that the Recto series have an abundance of.
I have an old set of EI Big Bottle 6CA7s in there now. But after a half hour or so, they're starting to hiss. Likely a sign they're failing.
I've read that because they are fixed bias, you have to use EL34's that are within "Boogie Spec".
Problem: Where is that Spec published? Or is it? I can understand Smith wanting the revenue stream. I get it; good business. But I have absolutely NO interest in paying the inflated prices on their WEBsite.
Anyone have a clue? High transconductance numbers, maybe? If anyone knows, I'd love have that info.

And yeah, I know, there's a bias mod out there. Suppose I could go that route. Wouldn't mind avoiding that if possible.

THANKS for any help! Noel

I emailed Doug at dougstubes.com and worked with him when I retubed my roadster, highly recommended!

Most of the tube vendors out there will know what range is OK for your amp. I like Tube Depot, but there are many others (like Doug's, mentioned earlier) that can set you up right.
As a reference, Groove Tubes rating #5 is right on the mark, and the folks at Mesa have told me that #4, 5 or 6 are acceptable.
I do recommend buying the burn-in option (already done by Mesa and Groove Tubes), if offered, as it helps ensure the tubes won't drift as much over time. :wink: