Wiring new speakers for a cab

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Axle

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the board, but have lurked here for a while and it's clear this place is filled with people who know what they're on about. I was wondering if somebody could help me out?

I've recently bought a second hand Roadster and a unloaded OS 2x12 Port City cab. I was planning to install a couple of V30's in there.

I'm relatively new to this and could use some advice regarding wiring the speakers...

My question(s) for any experts out there is this:

1. What ohm speakers do I need - 8 or 16ohm? My thinking was this: buy two 8ohm speakers, wire them up in parallel and drop the load to 4ohms, then connect the jack to the 4ohm socket in the Roadster. Correct?

2. Why is there two 4ohm jacks in the Roadster?

3. Is there any difference between running the ohm load at 4, 8 or 16? I've heard that the lower the resistance, the better, is that true?

4. If there's no difference, then is there any difference between running the speakers in series or parallel?

Much appreciated. :)

Axle said:
My question(s) for any experts out there is this:

1. What ohm speakers do I need - 8 or 16ohm? My thinking was this: buy two 8ohm speakers, wire them up in parallel and drop the load to 4ohms, then connect the jack to the 4ohm socket in the Roadster. Correct?

2. Why is there two 4ohm jacks in the Roadster?

3. Is there any difference between running the ohm load at 4, 8 or 16? I've heard that the lower the resistance, the better, is that true?

4. If there's no difference, then is there any difference between running the speakers in series or parallel?

Much appreciated. :)

I will try to answer all of these.