Loop Mod

Discussion area for Single, Dual and Trip Rectifers

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
Mowglimike
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:56 am

Loop Mod

Post by Mowglimike » Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:25 am

Hi all. I have this Dual Rec head (serial number - R06xx). I've been reading about the effects loop mod and it looks pretty straight forward. I opened mine yesterday and the wiring looks completely different than pictures I've seen here. There is only a send knob on the back. All the wires go back to the circuit board. Is it still possible to do the loop mod?

I'm trying to figure out how to insert a picture but in the meantime I figured I would just post the question.

Thanks!

Mowglimike
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:56 am

Re: Loop Mod

Post by Mowglimike » Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:35 am

I can't seem to figure out the picture thing. Here's a link to the photo http://flic.kr/p/9mrKNJ

Image

User avatar
mikey383
Single Recto
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:14 am
Location: North of Dayton, Ohio

Re: Loop Mod

Post by mikey383 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:33 pm

You already have a serial loop, so there's no need to do any modification to it.
Guitars:Schecter C-1 Classic, Ibanez RG7321, Epiphone LP Supreme
Amps:70's Earth head
Cabs:Recto 4x12, 5150 4x12
Effects:Digitech GSP2101, Budwah
Past amps '95 Dual Recto, '96 Dual Recto, Stiletto Trident, 3 ch. Triple Rec

User avatar
domct203
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:52 am
Location: New Haven, CT U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Loop Mod

Post by domct203 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:56 pm

mikey383 wrote:You already have a serial loop, so there's no need to do any modification to it.
+1 The lack of a mix control is the sign of a serial loop.

What are the issues you are having that made you want to modify your loop?

Dom
'07 Roadster Voodoo modded
'08 Stiletto Deuce II
'10 Mark V - sold
'18 TC-100
'01 Recto 4X12 Slant
'04 Recto 4X12 Slant/Straight
'74 Les Paul Custom
'95 American Strat
'12 Les Paul Signature T
TC G-System
==> NOMAD on Facebook <==

Mowglimike
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:56 am

Re: Loop Mod

Post by Mowglimike » Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:22 pm

Thank you. I wasn't sure which it was and appreciate you clearing that up. I just sold a Roadster and have fallen back to my Dual Rec as my primary amp. I've only been playing around with it for a few days now but I read something about throwing an EQ pedal in the loop and using it as a solo boost. I tried it and it doesn't really boost anything. It changes the tone based on the EQ settings but every time I try to dial it in and increase the volume I get a loud squeal. No guitar signal just squeal. I am sure I am doing something wrong and need to spend more time with it but that's what made me start looking at the loop mod thing.

Post Reply