Brand New Roadster Problems - FX LOOP & Channel 3

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi -

First I'd like to introduce myself: my name is Jeff, I'm 22 and I've been playing guitar as a serious hobby for about 9 years now. I've always been a fan of Boogie products; used to own an Express 5:50, but I've just finally been able to buy a Dual Recto Roadster - one of my dream amps. Onto the fun stuff...

I bought my amp head about a month ago and everything was working absolutely golden until a few days ago I went to hit the FX LOOP on the foot pedal after turning on the amp off of standby. I heard an unusually loud POP. Now, I've noticed a few things:

1.) The one that scares me the most is that the LOOP indicator light on the front of the amp never goes out - it's either dimly lit (about half power it looks like) when the loop is off, or it acts as normal when the loop is on. I have no idea why this light would stay on all the time now after that pop...
2.) The FX LOOP pop very loudly now when switching it on via the foot pedal. Once on, I feel it also acts differently than it used to - it seems the volume levels are messed up (this COULD be entirely in my head)
3.) Channel 3 always gets a very loud pop when being switched to.

I understand the regular pops are normal, but the aforementioned pops I'm experiencing are insanely loud. I experience these when I play at my place at only moderate levels, as well. If anyone could give me any insight (ESPECIALLY ON THE FIRST ISSUE I MENTIONED), it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-Jeff

Update - in case anybody's interested.